Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I took this to a Halloween party today and it was a big hit! I filled a 15x11 pan with apples (about 14?) and made the topping 1.5x the amount. I also added in a bit (maybe 3/4 cup) of a multigrain flake and cluster cereal that we had as well as adding the cinnamon, some nutmeg and sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice to the topping mix. I forgot to melt the butter for the top, so I just cut it in small pieces and dropped them on top before placing the whole thing in the oven. The topping turned out so crunchy and delicious! I served it on a dessert buffet so it was served cold, though I bet it would be even better warm with some ice cream! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Is this recipe a test or a joke? It is not very good and is very unbalanced. One tablespoon of baking powder is far too much. One tablespoon of cinnamon is too much for 1/4 cup of sugar. A tablespon of melted butter for the top is far too little. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a great apple crisp! I added 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar as someone else had suggested. I might cut down the sugar at the end that is sprinkled on top...came out very sweet! Very good crumble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. The filling was dry, and I think it would have been better with sugar and cinnamon mixed in with the apples. I didn't care for the topping at all. I found this topping heavy and hard rather than crisp and light. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
it was okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I don't know how the author fits 8 apples in an 8x8 pan -- 5 filled it nicely for me. But this is very good. I added 2 tablespoons of butter to the crust mixture thinking maybe it would make it a little softer (because I'm OK with soft, and with butter). It was still really crunchy and I was dubious as I chipped through it to serve the crisp, but it added a delicious texture. I served it with "Southern Boiled Custard" poured over, and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Not only was this easy to make it was sooooooo good. I could eat the whole thing myself. As the other reviewers said 4 big apples are enough for the 8 inch pan. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Was googling apple filling and came across this yummy recipe. I made it with Gala apples, subsituted some flour with oats and to make topping a little more moist I added margarine to it and spread it accross top then drizzled more on top. It was a yummy hit with some very picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Was very easy and turned out ok. Next time I might add some oats to the topping. Also, might mix some of the topping down into the apples, too... so it's not just a layer of apples and a layer of topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This isn't your traditional apple crisp, but it is very good and fairly healthy. First of all, only use 4-5 apples for an 8 inch dish, depending on the size of apple. You do not need 8 apples for an 8 in. dish! As suggested by others, decrease the flour to 3/4 cup and add 1/4 cup of oats. I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It definitely has a hard, crunchy top, but it tastes good. I suggest taking a knife and poking the surface of the topping to break it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*T*L*Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States