Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I took this to a Halloween party today and it was a big hit! I filled a 15x11 pan with apples (about 14?) and made the topping 1.5x the amount. I also added in a bit (maybe 3/4 cup) of a multigrain flake and cluster cereal that we had as well as adding the cinnamon, some nutmeg and sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice to the topping mix. I forgot to melt the butter for the top, so I just cut it in small pieces and dropped them on top before placing the whole thing in the oven. The topping turned out so crunchy and delicious! I served it on a dessert buffet so it was served cold, though I bet it would be even better warm with some ice cream! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Is this recipe a test or a joke? It is not very good and is very unbalanced. One tablespoon of baking powder is far too much. One tablespoon of cinnamon is too much for 1/4 cup of sugar. A tablespon of melted butter for the top is far too little. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a great apple crisp! I added 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar as someone else had suggested. I might cut down the sugar at the end that is sprinkled on top...came out very sweet! Very good crumble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. The filling was dry, and I think it would have been better with sugar and cinnamon mixed in with the apples. I didn't care for the topping at all. I found this topping heavy and hard rather than crisp and light. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
it was okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I don't know how the author fits 8 apples in an 8x8 pan -- 5 filled it nicely for me. But this is very good. I added 2 tablespoons of butter to the crust mixture thinking maybe it would make it a little softer (because I'm OK with soft, and with butter). It was still really crunchy and I was dubious as I chipped through it to serve the crisp, but it added a delicious texture. I served it with "Southern Boiled Custard" poured over, and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Not only was this easy to make it was sooooooo good. I could eat the whole thing myself. As the other reviewers said 4 big apples are enough for the 8 inch pan. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Was googling apple filling and came across this yummy recipe. I made it with Gala apples, subsituted some flour with oats and to make topping a little more moist I added margarine to it and spread it accross top then drizzled more on top. It was a yummy hit with some very picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Was very easy and turned out ok. Next time I might add some oats to the topping. Also, might mix some of the topping down into the apples, too... so it's not just a layer of apples and a layer of topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This isn't your traditional apple crisp, but it is very good and fairly healthy. First of all, only use 4-5 apples for an 8 inch dish, depending on the size of apple. You do not need 8 apples for an 8 in. dish! As suggested by others, decrease the flour to 3/4 cup and add 1/4 cup of oats. I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It definitely has a hard, crunchy top, but it tastes good. I suggest taking a knife and poking the surface of the topping to break it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*T*L*Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States