Apple Crisp Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
hello. i'm the submitter of this recipe. i forgot to add an important side note to this recipe. if i have apple juice on hand, i'll use it in place of the water. i find that it adds another layer of flavour and sweetness to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Joe's nani
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
REALLY awesome! I only had honeycrisp apples on hand and those worked beautifully. It IS a bit labor intensive, pressing the crust into all those little tins, but so worth it in the end. Tip on making the crust easier - cube your cold butter up and put it in the freezer. Put all of the crust mixture except the oats into your food processor, then add the frozen butter. Pulse until resembles coarse crumbs. Transfer to a big bowl and then mix in the oats. MUCH faster than cutting it in and distributes beautifully. I made these exactly as described but did add a little vanilla to the apples. Very delicious. Took longer than stated to cook, about 30 minutes. Ultimately I put the broiler on to brown the tops better. I will make these often in the fall. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe's nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These are delicious! I have become a HUGE fan of these little treats. They are the perfect little dessert! I have made these many times since I discovered this recipe. The thing that makes it so perfect is that you can make the crisp part and the filling part ahead of time and refrigerate it. Put together the cups and filling just before you need them. Bake them as directed. However, the *best* thing is that you can actually make them, bake them and then freeze them. They are actually *perfect* this way and taste exactly the same as freshly baked and cooled. Pop them out on the counter just a little while before a party or guests coming. I keep them in the freezer now because you can actually defrost them in the microwave, too, in just a few seconds. They are great to have on hand. I do cut down on the butter by about 1/3, but other than that these are the absolutely perfect little treat. Thanks, Weeble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a wonderful crisp recipe and a clever idea! The recipe, followed as written, did give me some trouble though. I just could not get the crust to the proper consistency for pressing in the pans by hand, so I put it through my food processor and pulsed until it started to clump. If you don't have a processor, then I would recommend softening your butter to at least room temperature before cutting in. I might even try that next time, as it was a fiddle trying to get that much volume of crust through my processor (I did it in two batches ~ I also might reduce the crust mixture next time as I had one cup left over after the final topping). I ended up short of apple filling by one whole pan, so it might be helpful to know how many cups are needed for the recipe instead of number of apples. Chopped pecans would be a wonderful addition to the topping. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent, Weeble; thanks! Used apple cider in place of water. Sliced butter and put in freezer for 20 minutes; placed all dough ingredients in food processor, zapped twice to distribute evenly, then added frozen butter and used one-minute pulses until pea sized. Quartered dough, left 3 portions in fridge while working first batch. GOOD IDEA: I used pestle (from mortar and pestle set) to press dough neatly to fit mini tin muffin pan. Am using leftover crust for toppings on any baked apples, pears, or other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made these before they got published, so I thought I would transfer my review over : These are awesome Weeble! Let me start by saying I didn't quite follow the recipe. I halved it, thinking, I don't have that many pans. Not realizing it was mini muffins. So I made big ones! I am trying to use apples out of the freezer, so I had already cooked them in the microwave. I just add butter, sugar, brown sugar, apple pie spice, and cinnamon after draining some of the water off. That was when I remembered your recipe, so I used the crust part. I realized they were supposed to be mini's when I tried to take them out of the pan, LOL! That would work much better holding together, but I got them cooled enough, put a cookie sheet over the pan, flipped them out and they held together. Tastes so good!I'll do the mini crisps next time, I still have more apples! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Jimby1960
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
TASTY! I used a mix of granny smith, honey crisp, and Jonathan apples. Just because I had them on hand. I found cutting in the butter was easier using two butter knives. I think I'll try a food processor next time to save time. I ran out of the apple mix after filling about 40. I filled the rest with some canned peaches and they were also very tasty. My 13yo daughter liked the ones filled with peaches better then the apple. So if you run out of the apple mix try the peaches or what ever else you might have in the cabinets. The cooking time was right on for me, about 18 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These are just the cutest, tastiest little things! Keeping a mental note about having extra crust, I reduced the flour and oats to 1 1/2 cups, brown sugar to 1 cup and butter to 1 cup. As it turned out, I only had enough apple mixture from 3 apples to fill 2 dozen mini-muffin tins and still had crust leftover (no worries - I'll keep it in the fridge and use to fill baked apples at some point). These are adorable and delicious and easy - I was afraid they would stick to the pan, but no! No trouble at all removing them! They're wonderful - thanks weeble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is delicious. My amounts didn't quite add up to four dozen, just two, so I'm not sure what happened there. I topped this with a simple confection sugar glaze and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I used silicon mini cupcake molds and had to cook a bit longer - also used margarine instead of butter and they came out too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States