Apple Crisp Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Enjoyed by all! Used whole wheat pastry flour, and all brown sugar. My kids took charge of patting the crust into the tin, and heaped in the apple mixture for each one. We'll definitely make this again, as it's so easy for the kids to do. Grease your tin well- the ones that did stick crumbled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These are sooo cute and sooo delish! I used the food processor method for the crust. I have to say I ended up with more crust than needed. The cups came out beautifully, and it was a hit when I brought it to our party. Thank you weeble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TCoons
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These are delicious! I squeezed some fresh lemon juice over the apples as I peeled and sliced them so they wouldn't turn brown. I used my Niece's organic juice instead of water. I was out of Nutmeg so I used Pumpkin Pie Spice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These are really good but very time consuming even after I discovered a method for forming the crusts of the cups (I filled each muffin cup full of crumbs and pressed down in each cup with half of a metal tea ball and then patched the top edges as needed). I've just made them for the second time and my back is sore from bending over the counter top for so long. The first time I made them with apples as written and today made 4 types - peach, raspberry jam, nutella and peanut butter. All were very good. For the crust I used the food processor method, once using frozen butter, once using warm. There was no difference in the texture of the crusts but the frozen butter ones came out of my pans easily. Both times I sprayed the pans with Pam but with the soft butter more stuck and broke. None broke today using frozen butter. I did allow the pans to sit for 10 minutes after coming out of the oven before I tried to remove the cups from the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
These were good, but not worth the effort of stuffing the filling into the muffin tins. Its easier to just make an apple crisp. I thought these would be good for a bake sale, but they take a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pickle_monster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I needed a one-bite type dessert for a group function so I thought this recipe would be a good bet. I just found these to be much too labor intensive. While they were nice tasting overall, I thought the crust and topping overpowered the apple filling so that the filling could hardly be tasted. I will stay with my traditional way of making apple crisp and find a simpler one-bite treat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I had some sticking with these and they were a little fussy to make but had great flavor. I will grease my tins lightly next time. They are dangerous little bites, you can eat 6 or 8 of them without realizing how much you've just eaten ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very labor intensive. I added a few cranberries left in the refrigerator and got rave reviews so it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We love apple crisp at our house so when I saw this recipe I was excited to try it. I only ended up with 3 dozen cups and quite a bit of apples left over but I did use 4 medium apples (guess I only needed 4). I only have 2 mini muffin pans so on the last batch I put a tiny bit of caramel (the ice cream topping kind that comes in a squeezable bottle) over the apples underneath the topping. Very yummy but very good just as the recipe is as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
My 4 year old asked me to make these again yesterday which reminded me to review them. These were great! Easy to make too. I had to use brown sugar with the apples instead of white because I was out of white and they were just fine. Other than that I followed the recipe. I only made a half recipe and they were gone by the next afternoon. One thing to mention is don't store them in a tupperware type container covered or they become soggy. Great recipe and such a cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States