Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I'm sooo glad I found this recipe. It tastes like Apple pie ALA Mode. I'm also glad i read the reviews first. I divided the ingredients among two 9 inch pies shells. I didn't have any problems with overflow or the cream "setting".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I scooped the apples out of the liquid and threw away the (butter-soaked on top and mush on the bottom) crust. It wasn't a total disaster. At least we had baked apple slices for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
I made this for Christmas this year, it was my first pie. I cannot tell you how well it went over with my family! I added a brown sugar and oatmeal topping on it and it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I just put my pie in the oven and I already have a mess! I used a single 9 inch pie crust like the recipe calls for, however, I had sugar mixture leftover and I had about one cup of cream/butter mixture (mush) that would not fit in the pie pan. My pie was running over before I got it to the oven. Sadly, I will not attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I'm an experienced cook and this recipe looked great!! But, there was entirely too much liquid--it never "set". I wondered if something was left out of the recipe. Smelled great and would have been great had it firmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
The cook time was alot longer for me. I also added cornstarch to the cream mixture otherwise it will be liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Could only use half of the cream. Too soupy, spilled over in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
If there were zero stars available, that is what I would give this recipe. Apple cream soup is what it was. I used up the apples that the kids weren't eating, only to waste a perfectly good pie shell and make a huge mess in my kitchen and inside my oven. Yuckie Poo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I really should have listened to the ratings BUT I am a sucker for creamy fatening things like half & half. Over all the pie was ok I was a little dissapointed in the soup and water and the mess!!! Something was definately left out of the recipe!! But it made the crust taste WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Yummy! A new twist to apple pie. Very easy & the family thinks you spent hours in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States