Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I really should have listened to the ratings BUT I am a sucker for creamy fatening things like half & half. Over all the pie was ok I was a little dissapointed in the soup and water and the mess!!! Something was definately left out of the recipe!! But it made the crust taste WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I'm sooo glad I found this recipe. It tastes like Apple pie ALA Mode. I'm also glad i read the reviews first. I divided the ingredients among two 9 inch pies shells. I didn't have any problems with overflow or the cream "setting".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Recipe was missing something...pie did not set-was apple soup in a shell. It also made enough filling for 10" deep dish, not 9" regular as specified. I added 1/4c Minute tapioca pearls sprinkled over top of cooked pie, then baked for 15 more min in order to save pie. In future, I would use less cream, less sugar, and keep the tapioca-adding it to cream mixture before pouring over apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I'm an experienced cook and this recipe looked great!! But, there was entirely too much liquid--it never "set". I wondered if something was left out of the recipe. Smelled great and would have been great had it firmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
The cook time was alot longer for me. I also added cornstarch to the cream mixture otherwise it will be liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I just put my pie in the oven and I already have a mess! I used a single 9 inch pie crust like the recipe calls for, however, I had sugar mixture leftover and I had about one cup of cream/butter mixture (mush) that would not fit in the pie pan. My pie was running over before I got it to the oven. Sadly, I will not attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I scooped the apples out of the liquid and threw away the (butter-soaked on top and mush on the bottom) crust. It wasn't a total disaster. At least we had baked apple slices for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I did not like this recipe at all. It smelled wonderful while it was baking but did not taste as good as it smelled. It was too watery and did not slice well. The "cream" was lumpy and watery and was not at all what I expected. This one has been deleted from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Yummy! A new twist to apple pie. Very easy & the family thinks you spent hours in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
I made this for Christmas this year, it was my first pie. I cannot tell you how well it went over with my family! I added a brown sugar and oatmeal topping on it and it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States