Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Really good! Very delicious but a tad too sweet for me so I think next time I'll reduce the amount of sugar. Great with some vanilla ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
My husband said this is the best pie I ever made, and I make a lot of pies. I used Granny Smith apples and increased the sugar slightly, as they were very tart. The very rich butter crust (Martha Stewart recipe) didn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
The flavor is great, but it needs major tweaks. There is way too much liquid - so add something to the cream to help it thicken and maybe precook the crust. We also think it'd be good with a little vanilla added. ALSO, put foil or something on the bottom of the oven. Our attempt flowed out of the pan a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I adjusted the half-and-half to 1 cup and did not mix the butter with it, instead just used cold butter and added the dollops to the apples. Added a simple crumb topping....excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taft, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Never really set up, didnt even put all the cream into it. Pie pan size it calls for is too small, took alot longer than 35 mintues. Smelled great and apples were yummy but as a pie it was a BUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made this pie this year for a change from my standard sour cream apple pie recipe. I took the advice of halving the liquid and I always add more apples. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for Apfel Schnitz Kuchen like my grandmother used to make and this definitely wasn't it--too liquidy and not enough flavour. There must have been eggs in it. I sure wish somebody had asked gramma to write down her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Westport, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Could only use half of the cream. Too soupy, spilled over in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
If there were zero stars available, that is what I would give this recipe. Apple cream soup is what it was. I used up the apples that the kids weren't eating, only to waste a perfectly good pie shell and make a huge mess in my kitchen and inside my oven. Yuckie Poo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
After reading the reviews I figured I would try this recipe. I put the filling into 2 pie shells. Had to bake the pies for an extra 15 minutes so that they would set. When I finally tried a piece.. I was VERY disappointed. I found that the pie had very little flavour. I will definitely stick to a more traditional pie. This was not worth using 2 cups of half and half cream which can be very costly where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States