Apple Cranberry Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Pretty good but needs something. After tasting I added some ginger. I split the batch and took it to two different parties, and it didn't go over too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is a great addition to the Thanksgiving table! I have to make it again this year - it was so popular last T-day. I used powdered sugar instead of granulated and it 'melts' perfectly. The conversion is 1&3/4 cup of powdered sugar to 1 cup of granulated - I used 1 3/4 cup and it was just right for us. Powdered sugar is great for sweetening cold liquids (like lemonade) so I'd recommend starting with a cup and add more if you need it - no waiting, no grit. Make plenty so you have enough for turkey sandwiches later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Loved it .. and so did the folks who don't like whole cranberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made this relish for our family's Christmas Eve dinner, it was a huge hit! I only used 1 & 1/2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet enough. The grated orange peel is a must so don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bean3934

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very tasty, and gets better when it sits a little longer. I made evening of the 23rd for Christmas dinner. Added a dash of ground cinnamon and ground ginger, along with 1/2 cup walnuts.. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewell S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I halved the recipe for a small gathering and used brown sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Only used 1 cup sugar and skipped the celery. Everyone loved it and thought it was better than Mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
half everything and add pecans. awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I already reviewed this, but for some reason can't edit the review. Just wanted to say that it is a MUST to make this a day ahead - it really thickens up and is a very pleasing consistency. I still haven't changed my mind about omitting the celery next time, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Myrrhmaid
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Everyone loved this with their holiday turkey. People asked for seconds and thirds (never saw anyone do that for cranberry sauce from a can). As others suggested, we prepared this a day in advance. Leaving it in the fridge overnight gave the sugar granules time to break down and blend in. We tasted the relish just after preparing it, and the sugar was gritty between our teeth. The next day it was perfect. This recipe yielded much more than was needed, so I've been stirring a little into my plain yogurt each morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myrrhmaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States