Apple Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
One pound of apples equals 2 large, 3 medium, or 4 small apples. You need 4.5 large apples, or 6.75 medium, or 9 small apples for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This pie was outstanding. I didn't have any brandy (imagine that, I'm from Wisconsin) so I added Kahlua instead. I didn't have allspice so I added cinnamon and nutmeg. I used a combination of Rome and Jonathon apples. I made one with a double crust and another with a crumb topping. Both were delicious. I was afraid the dried cranberries (Craisons) would be too chewy but they were just perfect and a delicious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I used Fresh Cranberries and a little more spice. The apples were fresh frozen and I left the peel on, my Father-in-law loved this pie. Try putting a little cinn. in the crust too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Yum... this filling was terrific! I've served it at 2 family occasions and it was a huge hit both times. Tasty and not TOO sweet. I changed the cooking directions so that I cooked the pie at 450F for 10 minutes and then turned it down to 360F for another 50 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I love the different ingredients in this pie. I've made it several times and it always comes out great. I use half the cranberries, though. Just enough to get a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
this pie was wonderful, i added cinimon and a cup of water...it was delicious, perfect for fall with all of the fresh apples.....I will make this again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Great Pie! Tried it for Thanksgiving and it was a champ. I had extra of the filling though, but hey, good for a new half size pie. My apples, they were crunchy ... I cheated by not cooking the filling long enough, and my family loved it that way. My boyfriend can't resist it specially if I serve it hot with Ice Cream on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
This pie is great. Even the kids loved it. I don't have a working scale so the apples measured by number of apples or number of cups of apples would have made this easier for me. I had to guess on the amount. I used a mixture of Harelson and Cortland. Yummy!! I will be making this pie for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This pie was a hit at our Thanksgiving! I'm not a fan of allspice, so I used cinnamon instead. I also used Granny Smith apples for a little extra tart kick. The filling is a perfect combo of sweet, spicy and tart with the cranberries. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Bones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Good. A little different because of the allspice, but we prefer it with plain cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States