Apple Cranberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Get your pointing fingers ready! Yes, I changed it. I changed it a lot! I did! I admit it! ... This looks like a beginner/home ec recipe & that's fine, but once you've been cooking a while, you can improve things. Tip: Offbrand/Storebrand (Kroger whole berry, 29g per 1/4c)foods have more sugar than namebrand (Oceanspray whole berry, 22g per 1/4c. I've noticed this with other foods, too. 'Guess since sugar is cheap to add ... weight is similar, but not quite the same inside.) I didn't think sweetened cranberry juice was enough for all those apples - so I added 1/4c sugar, 1/2t cinnamon, 1/8t each allspice & nutmeg. No cornstarch so used 1/3c flour mixed with 1/3c orange juice & added that to the melted sauce. Stirred till thickened & added the apples. I can get my guy child, 17, to eat oatmeal cookies, but not oats on top so went with traditional streusel topping of 1/3c flour & sugar, 1t cinnamon, 3T butter. Greased a 9x11, baked for 45. Since this is pretty juicy, that streusel didn't crunch at all. It just ended up being essentially cinnamon-sugar on top. Okay, but not necessasary. I'd recommend the oats or a pie crust topping. My dented can of cranberries is used as well as bruised grannies. Mission accomplished & dessert, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I thought that Granny Smith's were the wrong choice because you are mixing tart with tart (cranberries) and if you are going to do that, then you should probably have some sugar on the apples to create more of a sweet sauce. Also, the cooking time was a bit low in my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very tasty! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was great! It does not need any more sugar than it says. I used a can of apple pie filling, and a can of whole cranberry sauce. Super easy to put together, baked up quick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcsmommajen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Wow! This is a great recipe and so easy to make. I can hardly wait to make it for our next family get-to-gether!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is so good! Has definitely become a Thanksgiving meal staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this for my hubby for his bday and he loved it! I used crazens instead of cranberry sauce and one can of apple pie filling instead of fresh apples. I boiled the crazens in about 2 cups of water then let sit for a couple of hours before adding the cornstarch and boiling again. I also doubled the recipe for the topping and lined the bottom of a pie dish with half of the topping mixture. This recipe is going to be one of our families all time favorite Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Bays
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I used three grannys and two gala...I think. Oh so yummy! Even my hubby ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I unlike one of your reviewers love when people send in the changes they made to any of the recipes. I think it helps make more people use these recipes as not everyone likes the same thing. I love this recipe and I love some of the revisions and hope they continue coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracadiebythesea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States