Apple-Cranberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious! I left out the pecans in the crumble topping and used oil instead of the butter. I made doubled the fruit and made 5x the topping (reduced the oil/butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Wow, this was great. I doubled the filling (generous with the apples), and tripled the topping, then used a 9x13 pan. I am not a big fan of nutmeg, so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice (might also try dried ginger next time). Also, I used half brown sugar in the filling. This is a keeper, soon to be a holiday favorite in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was heavenly! I loved the rich, tangy sauce that formed underneath, and the cranberries made it so pretty. Many reviewers have suggested making more of the topping, but I disagree; the fruit is the main event here, and I thought the proportions were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
So yummy! Love that it's different than your basic apple crisp with the cranberries for tartness and beautiful color. I "1 1/2x'd" the recipe, using 6 apples (3 red/3 green) and sliced them as well as cut the sliced pieces to "fit" better onto a big spoonful of a bite ; ) - also combined the topping mix, sprinkled that on top then poured melted butter over it, rather than cutting the butter (that never works for me - always end up with dry patches.) Such a great fall dessert with vanilla ice cream and a cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
OMG!!! This is the best recipe ever! I followed some of the other suggestions and doubled the amount of topping and baked it in a 9 X 13 pan! This is a huge hit in our house!!! Oh, and I used Cortland apples instead of the Granny Smith and threw in an extra handful of cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly 'Kraemer' Feyen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
OMG!!! OMG!!! THIS IS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is amazing! Few minor chanegs as others suggested: increased cranberries to 1 cup and doubled the topping, it was perfect and smelled so good as it was baking, I also used mac's & cortlands. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I upped the amount of oats and added ground cloves to the topping. I also added fresh orange juice and rind to the filling. I am a big fan of the cranberry orange combination. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
AMAZING! Could have used a few more oats (will add next time), but otherwise great recipe. Had to do without the cranberries (Not in season right now), but will definately try when I can! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is absolutely amazing. I've made this at least 5 times now. The recipe as it is wonderful, but I've changed some things. I upped the cranberries to one cup, and cut the nutmeg to 1/2 teaspoon. I also only used 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. I made it with McIntosh apples, not granny smith, and I also have made it with and without pecans. It's wonderful both ways. This is a must make, especially around Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States