Apple-Cran-Cherry Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
It's weird...these are great, but not special all at the same time. Moist, sweet and easy, but still you end up craving chocolate with it. I'm keeping the recipe because I think of it as a nice alternative to a traditional cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
BOY was this a disappointment. I followed the instructions exactly and wound up with nearly tasteless little mounds. They are supposed to be for coffee hour at church tomorrow and I will probably have to make something else as I would not want to serve these. What a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These cookies are absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe except for letting the dough to sit longer. Stored in freezer bag with a few orange peels which added to the fruitiness. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I omitted the cardamom (as other reviewers did) and substituted 3/4 cup white chocolate chips for 3/4 cup of the fruit. I also used a mixed dried fruit of cherries, strawberries and cranberries which worked fine. Cookies definitely need the full 12 minutes to cook. They remind me of a certain oat-brand of breakfast cookies that is made except without the hydrogenated oils. I gave them four stars because my two year old won't eat them. I was trying to find a breakfast cookie recipe that he would eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I was skeptical when I was in the process of making these. In part, because it didn't really look like cookie dough, and also because I made another "breakfast cookie" from this site that had pretty good reviews and it was not good, imo. But this one is FANTASTIC! I didn't have cranberry's, so I subbed raisins. I used the dried cherries (cut them in 1/2, b/c I'm feeding them to my little guys). I used pumpkin pie spice because I didn't have any cardormom, and I kept the original amt. of cinnamon, even with the pumpkin pie spice. I also added a splash of vanilla extract. These are so, so, so good. I kid you not. I formthem into little patty's with my hands before baking them - and only bake them for 10 mins max! They'll keep baking after you take them out of the oven, so don't over bake them and dry them out. I keep mine in a tupperware container or large freezer bags, throw a piece of bread in the bag to keep them moist through out the week- although they don't last a whole wk in my home. EDIT: I used apple cider today instead of apple sauce, as it's all I had. Took it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These were delicious. I did not have any cardamom, so I added additional cinnamon in its place. I also did not have 3 cups of the dried fruit, as I feel it is expensive. I only added 1 cup total of a dried cranberry, blueberry & cherry mix. These were so good. I was not sure if my family would like these, but these went really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Loved them. We ate on them for over a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHYLIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe is really good! I like the chewy, crispy texture. Don't skip the cardomom, it's lovely. Increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp., used 1 C. white sugar and 1 C. brown sugar. Also used 1 C. all purpose flour and 1 C. whole wheat flour. I added 1tsp. vanilla, 3/4 C. walnuts and white chocolate chips. I will make this again and maybe add some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
LOVE THIS COOKIE! I am 10 weeks pregnant and was looking for a healthy alternative to the sweets Ive been craving, and this did it. I made a few changes to the recipe. First I substituted 1c flour for 1c flax meal and used whole wheat flour instead of white, then I added more cinnamon and some chopped walnuts. They are all gone in two days! Do shape the cookies how you want them to look though as they will not flatten out while baking. All in all these are a great tasty breakfast cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Good, moist, easy to make. I did only put dried cranberries in...left out the dried cherries, but put in white chips instead. Took them to my mom's group for the kids' snack and they loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States