Apple-Cran-Cherry Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow, we love these! They are very filling cookies. I used soy bean oil in place of half of the butter, it is a healthier fat. Mine turned out very moist, not cake-like at all, but it may be because I used the oil. I added some white chocolate chips in one third of the batch, dark chocolate chips in another third, and one third with no chips. Our favorite was the white chocolate chip batch. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
OK I admit I was a bit wary, being I hate cranberries, so I halved the recipe. Now I wish I made the full recipe. The cookies came out moist and delicious, with a little bit of tang. Kinda like an apple cranberry muffin... I didn't have any cardamom or whatever it was called so I left it out, they still came out wonderful. I will definitely make them again. I made these as a snack for a road trip, they are filling because of the oatmeal and healthy as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I made these cookies for the first time and brought them to a party; they were all gone by the end of the night! I did use half-white-half-wheat flour, which added a nice wheaty flavor. Out of necessity I used orange- and cherry-flavored dried cranberries and cinnamon-flavored applesauce (instead of separate cinnamon), all of which worked just fine. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
These cookies have just enough butter to keep them from tasting too 'healthy'. I followed the instructions exactly (except for the cardamom, which I didn't have). The taste is excellent, like those soft brekfast bars you can buy at the stores. They don't seem to spread at all though, so I flattened them slightly before baking to make them look more like cookies and less like haystacks. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was sooo good! I didn't have cardamom but I spiced it like I would apple pie. I added diced apples and omited the cherries. I did add some salt since I changed the spices. Just bake the first batch then change recipe to your tastes. EVERYONE in the family loved these (and that's saying something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was SO good - I used this for my plan of mixing raisins, dried cranberries and chocolate chips into an oatmeal cookie. (I used 1 cup of each.) All of my children were going crazy for these yummy cookies and I feel really good about the balance of ingredients compared to the usual cookie recipe we use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Awesome! I couldn't find any dried cranberries, so I used copped dried apricots, and they are delish!! I brought 2 dozen to work :) Oh, and I've never used cardamom in this recipe. I never have any on-hand! UPDATE: When I make this recipe, I often use a combination of dried apricots, cranberries and raisins. SO yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Good, moist, easy to make. I did only put dried cranberries in...left out the dried cherries, but put in white chips instead. Took them to my mom's group for the kids' snack and they loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
LOVE THIS COOKIE! I am 10 weeks pregnant and was looking for a healthy alternative to the sweets Ive been craving, and this did it. I made a few changes to the recipe. First I substituted 1c flour for 1c flax meal and used whole wheat flour instead of white, then I added more cinnamon and some chopped walnuts. They are all gone in two days! Do shape the cookies how you want them to look though as they will not flatten out while baking. All in all these are a great tasty breakfast cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe is really good! I like the chewy, crispy texture. Don't skip the cardomom, it's lovely. Increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp., used 1 C. white sugar and 1 C. brown sugar. Also used 1 C. all purpose flour and 1 C. whole wheat flour. I added 1tsp. vanilla, 3/4 C. walnuts and white chocolate chips. I will make this again and maybe add some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States