Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did take the advice of some of the reviewers, I added apple pie spices, and next time I make them I will double them. I added allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added 1 cup of oatmeal. The vanilla glaze was a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious but I would add oatmeal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Would be 5 stars if I hadn't changed it a bit...I added a tsp of cinnamon had no walnuts and used craisins instead of raisins and reduced to 1 cup of dark brown sugar. I also added 2 tbls of flaxseed meal soaked in 4 tbls of water for 5 minutes to add to the nutrition. I think the original recipe would have been good but a tad bland with no spice...also I can't find the icing recipe...but they are wonderful without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Delicious cookies for a fall treat. I made them the night before and wasn't thinking about all the moisture in the cookies so I covered them and the next morning they were very soft/mushy and never returned to their original state. Just remember to keep them uncovered or loosely covered to keep the outer shell a little hardened. I will definitely remember this step next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasplash
Home Town: Rio, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I'm giving it a four for a great base idea. First and foremost, I wanted the cake texture. Something sweet and easy for my 2 year old (who doesn't seem to like apples) to eat. I made the following changes: reduced to 1 cup of brown sugar, added 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tbs cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp of ground ginger, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp of almond extract, and brought all of my ingredients to room temperature. It came out as the texture of cake but the consistency of a cookie AND my son is eating apple. I am going to increase the apple next time and definitely add walnuts. I also think a caramel cream cheese glaze might be in the works. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These took longer to bake than expected. Found that often the bottoms would burn before the center was completely cooked. Worked out better when I turned the over down 25 degrees and baked a couple minutes longer. However, they were very, very good when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I used shredded local apples and cranberries and these turned out really well. They're very soft and quite surprising. Also, I substituted butter for shortening (1-to-1).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars b/c I think its a great way to use up those lingering apples in the crisper. I did add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. My family isn't a fan of icing on cookies so I opted to not drizzle that on top but I did Dr'd it up to use up some other things in my pantry.... coconut & white choc chips..... Everyone really enjoyed them. I lowered the temp to 375 and cooked them a few extra minutes and they were great! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Awesome cookies, the softest cookies I have every made! I would suggest adding a bit more apple than just a cup, and we added about a tsp of cinnamon to the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States