Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Llara Lindy
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
These are wonderful! Mine came out a bit soft-baked, but they were still delicious!!!!! However, I did add added few extra things (1tsp cinnamon, 1tsp nutmeg, 1tsp ginger and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did take the advice of some of the reviewers, I added apple pie spices, and next time I make them I will double them. I added allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added 1 cup of oatmeal. The vanilla glaze was a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious but I would add oatmeal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Would be 5 stars if I hadn't changed it a bit...I added a tsp of cinnamon had no walnuts and used craisins instead of raisins and reduced to 1 cup of dark brown sugar. I also added 2 tbls of flaxseed meal soaked in 4 tbls of water for 5 minutes to add to the nutrition. I think the original recipe would have been good but a tad bland with no spice...also I can't find the icing recipe...but they are wonderful without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Delicious cookies for a fall treat. I made them the night before and wasn't thinking about all the moisture in the cookies so I covered them and the next morning they were very soft/mushy and never returned to their original state. Just remember to keep them uncovered or loosely covered to keep the outer shell a little hardened. I will definitely remember this step next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasplash
Home Town: Rio, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I'm giving it a four for a great base idea. First and foremost, I wanted the cake texture. Something sweet and easy for my 2 year old (who doesn't seem to like apples) to eat. I made the following changes: reduced to 1 cup of brown sugar, added 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tbs cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp of ground ginger, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp of almond extract, and brought all of my ingredients to room temperature. It came out as the texture of cake but the consistency of a cookie AND my son is eating apple. I am going to increase the apple next time and definitely add walnuts. I also think a caramel cream cheese glaze might be in the works. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These took longer to bake than expected. Found that often the bottoms would burn before the center was completely cooked. Worked out better when I turned the over down 25 degrees and baked a couple minutes longer. However, they were very, very good when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I used shredded local apples and cranberries and these turned out really well. They're very soft and quite surprising. Also, I substituted butter for shortening (1-to-1).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars b/c I think its a great way to use up those lingering apples in the crisper. I did add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. My family isn't a fan of icing on cookies so I opted to not drizzle that on top but I did Dr'd it up to use up some other things in my pantry.... coconut & white choc chips..... Everyone really enjoyed them. I lowered the temp to 375 and cooked them a few extra minutes and they were great! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States