Apple Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Perfect coleslaw for those who like a creamy sweet version - like me! I used apple cider vinegar instead of white, nearly 4T of mayonaisse, and didn't use the pineapple juice (not something I generally have on hand). To the folks who found that their coleslaw was sitting in a watery, soupy mess after a while, here's the way to stop that from happening: After you've shredded the cabbage, toss it with 1t salt in a colander. Let sit over a bowl or in the sink for an hour or so. 4C of cabbage will have sweated about 1/2C of liquid by that point! Rinse the cabbage, drain, and dry with paper towels. Proceed with recipe and get thick creamy slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbylovespluto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Very tasty, but for children, I would decrease the black pepper to 1/2 tsp. Also added another 1T. mayo and dressing is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Delicious. I made some changes: double (at least) the dressing. Do NOT use low-fat mayonnaise (I should've known that) and mix mayo with brown sugar before adding liquids for creamier results (otherwise gets curdled appearance, even when using a whisk). I added pineapple tidbits. I left skins on apples (used 2) and chopped in shape similar to pineapple tidbits. I garnished with apples slices and pineapple tidbits on top so everyone would know the unusual ingredients were in there. Next time I might add FRESH parsley. Very yummy. Dressing was very light, nice alternative to the heavy mayo or the vinegar dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Photo by maryb
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
What a clever take on coleslaw! The honey, apple and pineapple give it wonderful flavor, much lighter than traditional coleslaw. I had a fresh pineapple on hand, so I added about 1/2 cup of that, finely diced. I subbed cider vinegar for the white, but I'm sure it would be equally good either way. To make it a main dish salad, I chopped up a grilled chicken breast and added it in. A very delicious way to eat my fruits and vegetables, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
We loved the flavor of this "sauce" for the coleslaw. We didn't want an overwhelming mayo flavor and this was perfect though I made some changes in the ingredients due to the items I had on hand. Unfortunately I didn't have pineapple juice or an apple but the juice would have been an excellent tropical addition. I added 2 green onions, utilizing all the green parts and the white part of one. I added 2 stalks of celery, finely sliced. I also had garlic rice vinegar so I substituted that as well. I added Mrs. Dash and salt in the seasonings. It was a great side dish to accompany our hamburgers. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is a great tasting coleslaw. Nice and light, with a touch of sweetness. Pineapple juice adds good flavor. Definitely great in sandwiches! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
not fantastic, but not terrible either. I added an extra mayonnaise, as the requested amount didn't come close to coating all the slaw ingredients (i only added an extra 2 tablespoons to achieve this) I let it sit for 3 hours before serving and it had oozed heeps of liquid - it was swimming in it!! A good idea, but I will keep searching for the perfect recipe for me and my families taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
It's a good cole slaw, but I like the ramen noodle/almonds/sesame seeds kind of coleslaw better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Awesome taste! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellent flavor and textures. I had to use apple cider vinegar as it was all I had on hand. I used the pineapple juice from a can of pineapple chunks (reserved the chunks for a school snack). One tablespoon isn't enough to make the coleslaw taste "pineappley". If you like a more creamier coleslaw, add another tablespoon or 2 of mayo. If you prefer your slaw to be zippier, add a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States