Apple Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Sweated the cabbage as suggested, but still ended up pretty watery in no time. All the same, I'll make it again to see if I can do it better; it was tasty nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Loved it! Even my non-coleslaw eating husband liked it. I went ahead and used pineapple juice from from canned pineapple and added the pineapple chunks - nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This coleslaw is really tasty. I sort of blanched the vegetables a while before mixing with the sauce. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the white vinegar and it gave the dish an interesting twist. I left the skin on the apple and sliced it instead of shredding as it allows me to taste the apple. I had no problem using low-fat mayonnaise but I made sure to dissolve the sugar completely in the vinegar before adding other ingredients. This helps to eliminate the lumps of sugar if you mix everything all at once. I did not add the pineapple juice nor the salt as I felt the coleslaw was flavourful enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
You goota tweak these recipes to your liking.I made some adjustments and it came out excellent! Little less cabbage and carrot, little more apple. Added 1 T of milk, 1 t T of lemon juice, and 3 T of onion. I used 4 T of lowfat mayo and increased the vinegar to 2 T for a little tsing. mmmmm nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I added a small amount of canned pineapple instead of pineapple juice. I did not have honey on hand but used my gourmet standby: pancake syrup as a substitute. This was good and I'll make it again--possibly adding chopped red pepper for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Awsome recipe. I made this for 15 people and they all loved it! Best coleslaw ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allymathis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Delicious. I made some changes: double (at least) the dressing. Do NOT use low-fat mayonnaise (I should've known that) and mix mayo with brown sugar before adding liquids for creamier results (otherwise gets curdled appearance, even when using a whisk). I added pineapple tidbits. I left skins on apples (used 2) and chopped in shape similar to pineapple tidbits. I garnished with apples slices and pineapple tidbits on top so everyone would know the unusual ingredients were in there. Next time I might add FRESH parsley. Very yummy. Dressing was very light, nice alternative to the heavy mayo or the vinegar dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I've made this recipe many times and my husband just loves it every time! The measurements are right on, as we don't particularly like goopy coleslaw. I never liked coleslaw before, but I really like this. We add raisins to make it a little sweeter. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Fabulous! Always get rave reviews when I serve this and many have asked for the recipe. Of course, I direct them to allrecipes.com. I have tried adding a few raisins and that is good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Perfect coleslaw for those who like a creamy sweet version - like me! I used apple cider vinegar instead of white, nearly 4T of mayonaisse, and didn't use the pineapple juice (not something I generally have on hand). To the folks who found that their coleslaw was sitting in a watery, soupy mess after a while, here's the way to stop that from happening: After you've shredded the cabbage, toss it with 1t salt in a colander. Let sit over a bowl or in the sink for an hour or so. 4C of cabbage will have sweated about 1/2C of liquid by that point! Rinse the cabbage, drain, and dry with paper towels. Proceed with recipe and get thick creamy slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbylovespluto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States