Apple Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
We loved the flavor of this "sauce" for the coleslaw. We didn't want an overwhelming mayo flavor and this was perfect though I made some changes in the ingredients due to the items I had on hand. Unfortunately I didn't have pineapple juice or an apple but the juice would have been an excellent tropical addition. I added 2 green onions, utilizing all the green parts and the white part of one. I added 2 stalks of celery, finely sliced. I also had garlic rice vinegar so I substituted that as well. I added Mrs. Dash and salt in the seasonings. It was a great side dish to accompany our hamburgers. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I LOVE this idea but I did a few modifications and I'm not sure it's even the same recipe anymore. I kept the ratio of cabbage, carrot and green apple but to keep the apple from turning brown I put it through the food processor with three cubes of pineapple juice (I freeze things like that in ice cube trays so they are always on hand). I swapped the white vinegar for cider vinegar and added a few tsp of lemon juice as well. I did not use honey (though I'm a big fan of raw honey) as I've had trouble in the past with a strange taste when mixing honey and fresh veggies or fruits so I kept the brown sugar and added in 1/2 tsp pure stevia extract (I use this in place of most sugar) and a tablespoon of apple juice concentrate to sweeten some more because it wasn't sweet enough. I also upped the mayo a bit because it wasn't "creamy" enough for me but I used a low fat type with olive oil for health reasons. I did add the salt and pepper though I was actually worried about that and finally, I tossed in some raisins (1/2 cup or so) and I couldn't stop eating it! Neither could my youngin! The apple really helps and the pineapple juice should not be optional. Next time I will try it with the stated amount of mayo and some silken tofu for extra protein and lower fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this for my family and new son-in-law. No one liked it. Thought it had a peculiar taste. If I made it again, I would obmit the honey. This is the first Allrecipes I did not like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mochalvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I'm not a big fan of coleslaw but i loved this one. It wasn't to mayonasie and i loved the apples. I didn't add the brown sugar because i'm trying to cut down on sugar and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erindelight
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was excellent... the apple adds a really nice zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erindelight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
It was not wet enough, nor was it creamy enough. I dare say that it was also not sweet enough. I am a tough critic when it comes to coleslaw. I like my very wet, creamy and sweet. This was none of those. I almost doubled the sauce and it still was seriously lacking...for me( and my family)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I had to improvise because of lack of ingredients. I used red cabbage and did not add pineapple. I make this all the time now. I serve grilled pork chops over coleslaw and it complements the meat wonderfully. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Mmm, very good! Left out the sugar and pepper but added pineapple, raisins and mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I tried this since it got such great reviews, but I found it to be very bland....but since I don't make cole slaw very much, I wasn't sure what was missing. There definitely was NOT enough dressing to cover the slaw. I ended up adding quite a bit of celery salt and cinnamon. The cinnamon REALLY seems to pull the flavors together...but I'm not sure if it's going to be a crowd-pleaser tonight or not. I'll report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I skipped the pineapple juice (didn't have any), put about half the pepper in and added an extra TB or so of mayo. After those slight modifications, it came out great - very light and slightly sweet. I ate mine on BBQ beef sandwiches and it added JUST the right touch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States