Apple Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I was a bit wary of the complexity of flavors, but I tried the recipe as written. Turned out delicious. I think the slaw sauce was key. I spiced it up with California Seasoning Salt (Pepper, salt, garlic, lemon zest). Using the freshest veggies also helps. The apples and mayo reminded me of Waldorf salad but so much better! I will use this recipe instead of the traditional Waldorf recipe. Oh yeah--one tip: make sure you toss apples in lemon juice before adding rest of ingredients. It'll prevent browning if your slaw is being stored for a few days. I paired this slaw with cayenne spiced tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
don't need to be exact or even have all the ingredients. the basic idea of the recipe is great and most variations are delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
One of the best coleslaws ever! Didn't have any carrots and added a half teaspoon of poppy seeds. What a wonderful recipe! Could add pecans or walnuts or sunflower seeds, if desired. My family loves this slaw and it doesn't require a speck of salt! It's all good. Thank you for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Perfect, always have apples and cabbage in the fridge. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Love this recipe!! Simple but so delicious and pretty too. Added sun flower seeds for additional crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was good but not great. I found that the dressing lacked some "zip" so added about 1 tablespoon cider vinegar and just a dash of salt. That seemed to do it. Was a good salad for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
YUMMY! After chopping the apples, mixed them with 2 TBSP lemon juice (prevents browning) and did not add any more to dressing. May reduce brown sugar next time as we found it a little sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was good and healthy! Subbed 3 cups slaw mix for shredded cabbage, subbed 1/2 cup toasted almonds for carrots, and added 1 tsp. Apple Cider vinegar. Very pleasant, quick, crunchy and healthy. Kids didn't HATE it (that gives me hope) & hubs liked it (highly unusual response from him on my new creations...LOL ). I will make again, as it is nice for the hot Florida temps...give it a try...you will be happy to have a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States