Apple Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious..as is! I didn't change a thing. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Had some cabbage to finish up and found this recipe. This is delish!! I can just eat the whole bowl. It is light and fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I almost always stick to the exact recipe the first time I try it. The only time I do not is if there is an ingredient I do not care for. When I decided to make this, I did not realize I was out of some key ingredients. I made it anyway making adjustments. I used a coleslaw mix and omitted the carrot. I did not have any bell peppers, green onions, granny smith apples, or mayo. So...I chopped two tablespoons of yellow onion, used a stalk of celery, and two Braeburn apples. Instead of mayo, I used Miracle Whip Light. The results were pretty good. I believe when I make this again following the actual recipe, I will be in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyHH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wathena, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Good simple recipe, I think I will try with less cabbage (1/2 as much) and more apple (1.5-2 times as much) next time. The dressing seemed perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My family loves this recipe. It is fantastic exactly as directed. However I usually make it with homemade mayonnaise and raw honey instead of the brown sugar. You can also substitute unflavored greek yogurt for the mayo and that is very good as well. Goes perfectly with BBQ dishes like pulled pork. Definitely a five star recipe and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I am SO surprised! I got a head of cabbage in my CSA box and didn't know what to do with it. I've never liked cole slaw, ever. EVER. But, I didn't want to waste it so I bit the bullet and picked a high-rated recipe, sure that I would end up throwing it out after tasting it. I almost gave up when I was chopping the cabbage because it sure did smell nasty. Anyway after I had put everything together, and tasted it, I could NOT believe it. I actually enjoyed it! Thank you for this recipe to help this first-time cabbage-try-er actually enjoy cabbage! By the way, I followed some of the reviews and used lemon juice on the apples, added pecans & dried cranberries, and a little apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Had my doubts how this dressing would look on the salad after mixing in the brown sugar, but not to worry, it was fine. Crunchy fresh cabbage, crisp apples, and a slightly sweet dressing resulted in a very nice salad. Welcome change from the traditional tossed green salad that I eat most of the time. Good way to welcome Fall, and I definitely will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Love it. Per my personal preference, I decreased the cabbage to 2 cups and increased the apples and carrots to 3 each. The last time I made it I also added more peppers so I had orange, red and yellow ones. Very colorful and tasty. Very versatile recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I liked this recipe alot , the only thing I changed was that I omited the green onion and red pepper, and instead added 1/3 red onion and extra lemon and used agave syrup instead of brown sugar. It was sweet and crunchy and savoury all at once! I tried this recipe with walnuts and it was delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Made this with a group of friends, it was fun! Slaw is really refreshing and tasty! Only change I'd make is lessening the cabbage. We only used 1 head and it was plenty (We scaled it up to serve 20) Super easy and really good! Goes great with sloppy joes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadeeLuck84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States