Apple Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I have made this cole slaw more times than I can count. I add toasted sunflower seeds and sometimes substitute blueberries for apples, both ways are delicious. I love the mix of sweetness and crunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is a recipe you can trust. I made it for 22 people and everyone raved. I didn't make any changes. I would suggest making it a few hours ahead to help blend the flavors. Before serving you can drain a little of the extra juices but don't drain them all because I had people who wanted it sloppy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very nice! I do think I would add a little cider vinegar maybe next time. I put some of the lemon juice in a bag and put my apples in that as I cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
My husband loved it, but I ran out of brown sugar and used white sugar, plus Japanese mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
My niece made this cole slaw and this is the best slaw that I have ever eaten! I have recommended this recipe to everyone looking for a slaw recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walstonburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Awesome...Everyone at our last BBQ loved this recipe. The only big change I made was adding pomegranate infused red wine vinegar. It played nicely with the apples. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
this is the second time i'm making this salad. i followed directions both times. Great salad - even picky hubby likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Great combination of crunchy and sweet! I made this a little easier and just used a bag of coleslaw mix thus eliminating the need for the grated carrot. I also opted out of the green onion and instead used a little celery. I did add a bit of seasoned salt and some fresh cracked black pepper and cut the mayo with a bit of sour cream. This definitely needs to set for a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great...however, I omited the bell pepper and added red onion and Jalepenos, poppy seeds and a cap full of apple cider vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe! It's crunchy, sweet, and tangy! Some changes/substitutions I made: 1. I used a bag of broccoli slaw instead of the cabbage, carrots, and red pepper. 2. I don't like my coleslaw mayonnaise heavy so I used a little less than 1/3 cup mayo and slightly less brown sugar. 3. Like other reviewers, I tossed the apples in lemon juice in addition to using lemon juice in the dressing. I also added a handful of dried cranberries. 4. I used fresh lemon juice and also added so lemon zest, it made the slaw very light and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States