Apple Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This Cole Slaw is so good. My family and I don't care for bell pepper and onions in our slaw, so I left them out and it was still scrumptious. Here is a little tip I heard about from a chef on the cable food network. As you know all veggies have quite a bit of water so if you but the cabbage in a colander and sprinkle a little salt over it. It will remove the excess water from the cabbage. This process takes about 30 minutes to an hour but it gives you a very crisp cabbage and the slaw is not watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
611 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This cole slaw is soooo good, I followed the recipe almost exactly, the only thing I did differently was to put a tablespoon of lemon juice on the apples while I chopped up the rest of the ingriedients, I did this the first time I made the salad, I didn't do it the second time and the apples turned brown after 2 days. I still added the lemon juice that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is an absolutely awesome recipe. So simple and easy to throw together. For a change of pace, I occasionally throw in pecans or sunflower seeds for a little something different... This has joined a list of favorites in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. It's probably the best slaw I've ever had. I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and added a couple Tbl. of cider vinegar in addition to the lemon juice. Thanks for the recipe Aunt Mamie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DROE1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! I added 1 tsp. vinegar to the mayo mix and topped the slaw off with dried crandberries and sliced almonds. My son had about 4 helpings and said be sure to keep the recipe for this one! I thought about adding some salad shrimp or chunks of chicken next time and make it a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This recipe is excellent. I've made it several times and am ALWAYS asked to bring it to family functions. I always buy a pre-shredded cabbage/carrot mixture to make prep easier and also change up the apples from time to time (try Fuji or Gala, you must keep the granny smith though for the tartness). I skip the red pepper and sometimes add a little extra dressing. This is WONDERFUL and keeps for several days. Thanks so much for a GREAT recipe, Aunt Mamie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLU3WATER
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Very refreshing! This recipe is so versatile, you can add many crunchy fruits and veggies to it. I added fresh pineapple slices to mine, and a little bit of green onions. I love coleslaw and find this one to have a good balance of creaminess, sweetness and tanginess. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
My friend brought this salad to work and it was a hit! I loved it. It is so refreshing! I made this for my boyfriend today who is a coleslaw fanatic and he loved it. I did buy a bag of pre-shredded cabbage/carrot mix to make prep easier and I added 1 tsp vinegar because he doesn't like things too sweet. I think the next time I make this for myself I will add some dried cranberries and sliced almonds as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
We loved this cole slaw. It does not overdo the mayo like so many recipes. I think the apples and the dressing are a must as is, but you could add or subtract to the rest of it to fit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Awesome recipe!!! I omitted the onions (as done by a previous reviewer) and added another carrot in their place. The whole family loved it - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States