Apple Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe is simple and delicious. I skipped the red pepper and used apple cider vinegar in the dressing, only soaking the apples in actual lemon juice prior to putting everything together. If your or someone you love (i.e. my husband) don't like the heavier mayonaise-based cole slaws, this one will be a winner. We put it on top of pulled pork sandwiches, and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Love this! I was a little hesitant to make it and it turned out great. I did use the bag slaw mix and Splenda brown sugar. Also added craisins. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This recipe was the hit of the party. Paired with macaroni and cheese and crockpot honey ribs (also from allrecipes) was the perfect party menu. I used bagged coleslay mix instead of the cabbage and carrots. Cut the sugar in half and added a Tablespoon of redwine vinegar to the dressing. Followed the recommendation of putting the apples in bag with lemon juice - 2 days later and no browning. I also added dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This slaw is addictive! Everyone I have ever served it too can't stop eating it. I doubled the recipe for a crowd about 4 hours before serving; is better if you do it the day before. I use a slotted spoon to transfer the slaw to another bowl if the sauce gets runny. I also use the lemon juice on the apples as I chop them up; no trouble with browning at all, even the next day. I added a 1/2 a medium onion chopped finely instead of the 2 green onions and a few hits of red pepper sauce for an extra zing; also salt and pepper to taste. A great picnic slaw. I took this batch to a lobster roast and not a smidgen left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was very sweet so taste the dressing before applying!! It turned out ok with lots of adjustments tho. Made the day before, by the time we served it was looking a little dingy, apples slightly brown (I used lemon). Omitted onion & pepper, used bagged slaw mix, added crainraisins & cider vinegar. Vingegar was a good tip-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pukka brio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Awesome Reciepe! It was a hit in my house i will most definetly make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
awesome and very very easy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I made this with pork roast and it made a great side dish. A little on the sweet side, next time I will cut down on the sugar content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
not sure what i could've done wrong - or maybe i'm just used to a more savoury coleslaw - but this is waaaaay too sweet. essentially a dessert. that's even with only 3 tbsp of sugar, supertart apples and xtra lemon juice. took forever to make, so am not feeling too cheery. sorry - i really wanted to like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States