Apple Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was delicious. Everyone in the family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Absolutely the best cole slaw recipe I have ever tasted. Wouldn't change a thing. Arlene Butler Alberta, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I cook for a group of people and they LOVED this Apple Slaw way more than a traditional cole slaw. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
UPDATE: MY NEIGHBOR SNEAKED A LITTLE LEFTOVER SLAW FOR HERSELF (HENCE I BROUGHT HOME AN EMPTY DISH). HER HUSBAND ENDED UP EATING HER "STASH" FOR BREAKFAST THIS MORNING HAHA! Yum! What a nice change of pace from the usual mayonnaise-laden coleslaw! My hubs and I were invited to a neighborhood cookout this past weekend. I took this as our "dish" to contribute and brought nothing home!!! As many others did, I too subbed a pre-packaged coleslaw mix for chopped cabbage. Because I wanted some color, I used equal parts coleslaw / shredded red cabbage. The packaged mix I purchased didn't have many carrots in it, so I added a couple generous handfuls of matchstick cut ones (found near the coleslaw in my grocers produce section). My final change was tossing my cut apples in a tiny bit of lemon juice to prevent them from browning. Although this turned out pretty well, I do regret not "sweating" my cabbage (the bulk of all vegetables are comprised mostly of water, ESPECIALLY cabbage, cucumber and eggplant). By the end of the evening, a considerable amount of liquid had collected in the bottom of my bowl and my red cabbage "bled" a bit (if that makes any sense...). NOTE: DO NOT LEAVE OUT THE BELL PEPPER OR GREEN ONION! Both add a bit of savory to this otherwise sweet dish and are FANTASTIC complements. Thanks SO much for sharing this unique, summer-appropriate recipe, Aunt Mamie! I'll be adding this to my recipe box for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Good. The apples need to be finely chopped so the flavors can meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I was surprised by how good this was. I added a little more mayo with one pkg of angle hair slaw. Also had to add a touch of salt. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great recipe. My SIL made this for a family dinner. Used one Granny Smith apple and left out the red apple. Also added more bell pepper. Use only one green onion or else the slaw will taste like green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Made this with greek yogurt instead of the mayo so it would be even lighter, and it was great. Next time I'll use a little less sugar because the yogurt doesn't balance it as well as the mayo would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Fabulous, won't make regular creamy coleslaw again unless for over hot dogs & hamburgers. Didn't have green onion so used a little red onion & did make things even easier by using a bag of coleslaw instead of purchasing everything. I like Kraft Coleslaw dressing & had that on hand so used it instead. The crunch of the apples & the color of the pepper & red onion made it appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
great for cookout side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States