Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was very nice. I used almonds instead of walnuts as I don't like walnuts. At first I thought the cake wouldn't work as the crumble base part was very dry and the batter part was also dry. The cake actually turned out quite moist. The brown sugar sauce went very well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Love this cake. I would make it for members of my team while working in Afghanistan. They all loved it and would ask for it often. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This cake turned out so nicely! We loved the crust on the bottom. I had to use foil to prevent the cake from browning too much after about half an hour, but it wasn't a problem. The colour was beautiful. It ended up taking only about 1 hour until it was ready. I didn't even bother with the sauce after tasting it without. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is my new favorite apple cake!!!One I will hand down to my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clyde, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was good. I used an 8X8 inch square glass baking pan because that was what I had and it worked fine. Like another reviewer, I reduced the heat to 350 and did not have to cover it at all. it took about 85 minutes to cook completely. For the sauce, I didn't have brandy, so I didn't use it. Next time I'll skip the vanilla too. I tasted it before the vanilla and thought it was wonderful, but when I put in the vanilla it didn't taste as good. I also used pecans instead of walnuts, because I like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! It is so rich and moist. I used the springform pan and came out looking like a professionally done cake. I ommitted the brandy because I didn't have any, and the sauce was rather bland. Also, I used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
A different twist on a normal "coffee cake" recipe, this turned out pretty good. I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, and decreased the amount of sugar. I also added nutmeg and a bit of extra cinnamon. It was completly cooked in only 45 minutes, so be careful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was alright. I really don't think that the prep work was really worth the taste. Don't get me wrong, people enjoyed it, but I think that you can get a moister, tastier coffee cake without all of the work. The crust was a little too dry for my taste, ("Looks like a dog biscuit" was the running joke among my family members that evening.) and the brandy (brown) sauce was a little too bitter, and not sweet enough for the coffee cake. Again, this is "okay", but I will not be making it again unless specifically asked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlowe'sMum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Initially, I had reservations about this recipe. I found that the cake didn't require further baking after 45 minutes, so many thanks to all of you that posted the warnings about cooking times. The cake that emerged from the oven was visually tempting, and its cinnamon-vanilla aroma was pleasantly appealing...but when I served it up for dessert, still warm, with ice cream, it didn't go down a storm. Everyone ate it politely, and there were no overt criticisms but not a one jumped at the chance for seconds or even to take leftovers away with them. Disappointed, I was preparing to offer the remains of the cake to the birds the next morning when I popped a morsel of it in my mouth, and then immediately wondered what had happened to the one that I had baked because the bird fodder I had in hand could not possibly have been it!! It had a gorgeously moist and tender crumb and a crust that was both crisp and caramelly at the same time. So, unless the fairies stole in overnight and substituted slices of their enchanted food for my floury stodge, this cake *clearly* benefits from having a night to rest - as do we all! I shall definitely make this one again - but the next time it will be a "make-ahead" cake for brekkie or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This was so good. I used macintosh apples, pecans instead of walnuts and lowered the temp to 350. I did not have to cover it and used a 9x9 square glass pan. The first night it was moist as you could possibly imagine. The next morning when my family finished it off for breakfast the bottom had hardened into a wonderful carmel like crust...and the cake was still moist///it was awsome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States