Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Delicious and moist. I used a bundt pan, and baked for 45 minutes. It was great even without making the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Family loved it even more the day later! Very moist! One thing I would change would be to not press the crumb mixture into the pan, but rather let the apple-mixture soak into it, so it would be less of a pie-crust thing (because after a day the crust got hard and chewy and wasn't coherent with the texture of the apple cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
It was good. I left the nuts out of the crust and I baked it for the full 1 hour and 20 minutes, the last 20 I covered it in foil. It turned out perfectly, not overbaked, and was quite yummy with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Fantastic! It's not too heavy and pleasantly moist. Brought it to a party and everyone loved it! ...add some ice cream and it's even more splendiferous ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I opted to make this cake without the brown sugar sauce. On its own, it is quite tasty, but quite frustrating to bake all the way through. I had to tent it with aluminum foil from about 40 minutes on, checking every five minutes to see if it had cooked through. I ended up baking mine for a little over an hour. I found that, although it tasted great, it did not hold together very well, and the cake separated entirely from the crust-like bottom. Overall, I would serve this to family with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but wouldn't trust it to hold together for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Not much flavor, really, besides the butter. Leaves a greasy feel to the mouth and a bit too greasy for the tummy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
An hour was way to long to bake. Couldn't even eat the crust. I might try this recipe again using a lot less cooking time. Not sure though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I followed reccomendations of others... heavy on apples, easy on the sugar, and reduce either the temperature or the cooking time. Without the sauce, it was a moist cake-like concoction. The caremely nuts on the bottom were a nice treat. Overall, it wasn't anything incredible. It is a good cake for people who like a more delicate, less sweet cake. I'll try it one more time with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is fabulous. It will be especially good as an autumnal dessert. The sauce reallly make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is abxolutely wonderful, I made it for my little brothers and they wanted to eat the whole pan full! I will definately made this again and again. a few things I did differently: used whole wheat flour, and sucanat instead of sugar, also in the sauce, I omitted most of the ingrediants and just mixed 1/4 cup of butter, and 1 cup of brown sugar on the stove, and it really added to the flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States