Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Delicious and moist. I used a bundt pan, and baked for 45 minutes. It was great even without making the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Family loved it even more the day later! Very moist! One thing I would change would be to not press the crumb mixture into the pan, but rather let the apple-mixture soak into it, so it would be less of a pie-crust thing (because after a day the crust got hard and chewy and wasn't coherent with the texture of the apple cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
It was good. I left the nuts out of the crust and I baked it for the full 1 hour and 20 minutes, the last 20 I covered it in foil. It turned out perfectly, not overbaked, and was quite yummy with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Fantastic! It's not too heavy and pleasantly moist. Brought it to a party and everyone loved it! ...add some ice cream and it's even more splendiferous ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I opted to make this cake without the brown sugar sauce. On its own, it is quite tasty, but quite frustrating to bake all the way through. I had to tent it with aluminum foil from about 40 minutes on, checking every five minutes to see if it had cooked through. I ended up baking mine for a little over an hour. I found that, although it tasted great, it did not hold together very well, and the cake separated entirely from the crust-like bottom. Overall, I would serve this to family with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but wouldn't trust it to hold together for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Not much flavor, really, besides the butter. Leaves a greasy feel to the mouth and a bit too greasy for the tummy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
An hour was way to long to bake. Couldn't even eat the crust. I might try this recipe again using a lot less cooking time. Not sure though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I followed reccomendations of others... heavy on apples, easy on the sugar, and reduce either the temperature or the cooking time. Without the sauce, it was a moist cake-like concoction. The caremely nuts on the bottom were a nice treat. Overall, it wasn't anything incredible. It is a good cake for people who like a more delicate, less sweet cake. I'll try it one more time with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is fabulous. It will be especially good as an autumnal dessert. The sauce reallly make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is abxolutely wonderful, I made it for my little brothers and they wanted to eat the whole pan full! I will definately made this again and again. a few things I did differently: used whole wheat flour, and sucanat instead of sugar, also in the sauce, I omitted most of the ingrediants and just mixed 1/4 cup of butter, and 1 cup of brown sugar on the stove, and it really added to the flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States