Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe, though I did make just a couple minor adjustments. I found that the two medium apples I at first chopped up weren't quite enough so I used a third - though maybe two large apples would be plenty. Also, I found the top to my cake browning quite a bit faster than anticipated so I layed the aluminum foil across the top much earlier than suggested. Be careful when doing this, however, as the top of the cake is very sticky while hot. It's best to "tent" the foil over the pan. The Brown Sugar Sauce recipe that accompanies is the superb "cherry on top." The whole thing went over a fantastic hit and is a requested future fall recipe tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This cake was very average. I really wanted to like this cake and I didn't think you could go wrong with apples and caramel but this recipe proved that it is possible. Even with the adjustments made based on other reviewers (i.e. 1 cup sour cream and 2.5 apples), it was very dry and dense and the crust was very hard and chewy (perhaps the flour should be cut down to 2 cups?) This wasn't horrible, but not worth the calories. I will not make this again as there are better recipes out there (i.e the Butter Rum Glazed Applesauce cake on this site, or the Apple Spice Cake on marthastewart.com). Regarding the sauce, I will add the brandy as an ingredient to the caramel sauce recipe from Martha Stewart. This is a great basic sauce to use on pancakes, baked apples, or perhaps on the Pear Cake recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This recipe and the Brown Sugar Sauce that goes with it are requested by everyone who has had a piece of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I left out the nuts for a personal preferance. Overall it was a keeper. Will make again. Its a nice fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
delicious, its a heavy cake, which I like very much. My family and I liked it better without the brown sugar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Delicious I like to use different flavours of yogurt to replace the sour cream. You don't have to at all, this recipe is fantastic, but it gives you more flavour and aroma options. Blueberry is a good one. I sell at markets and as soon as I open up the container the smell really hits the shoppers. Followed everyones advice for baking time. First time I went for the 45 minutes and it wasn't completely cooked in the middle (still really good like that though). Second time for an even hour and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I cooked mine for the full 1.5hrs at 375 and it turned out quite dark (should have read the reviews beforehand - see picture). In the end though, the cake turned out very tasty. Not too dense, but not light either. Haven't tried the brown sugar sauce yet, but it sounds like a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Good. Would not separate mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a pretty nice coffee cake. Some reviewers said not to press the mixture into the bottom of the pan, but I disagree--the crust is the best part of the cake, and it looks nice too. My modifications were to use only one cup of sugar and 2.5 apples. Also, I didn't find the cake dense at all, and I would add a full cup of sour cream next time. I have a 3-year-old oven that cooks rather fast, so I did a toothpick test and took the cake out at 45 mins. It was NOT enough--a few parts in the centre of the cake were still gooey, so I would probably go to a full hour next time. I put foil on top of the cake at around 40 minutes to prevent over-browning. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I don't usually make a recipe for co-workers unless I have tried it myself, but I experimented this time and it worked out great. I made the Brown Sugar sauce to go with it and it was great too. Thanks for the recipe, I will make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanne O'Donohue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States