Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I just made this and my family LOVED it. The "crust" was perfect, I would not change it! The only change I made was to add an extra apple. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Mayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
First off, the cake was quiet tasty, very moist and flavorful. Its translates well to gluten free. I don't recommend making it in a Bundt pan however. I followed the directions almost to the T having to sub gluten free flours for ap but the brown sugar mixture stuck to the bottom of my pan despite a liberal coating of cooking spray. Which isn't the fault of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe I baked for only 45 minutes and was baked perfectly. I also added a bit of orange zest which gave this recipe a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used 3 smallish macintosh instead of 2 and left out the nuts. It was not going to fit in a regular cake pan so I used a 9 inch springform. Lowered the temperature and baked it for 55 mins at 350 instead of 375. Other than that I followed the directions and it came out wonderful! The cake didn't brown excessively, was very moist, and the crust didn't become hard and crunchy. Didn't make the sauce as the cake was sweet enough on its own. As a bonus the house was filled with the amazing aroma of apples and cinnamon! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Only issue I found at all was that the top of the cake came out a little hard due to the long cooking time. I'll be sure to cover it after about 40 minutes next time so the top doesn't brown so much. Other than that.....AWESOME! I will make this with the brown sugar sauce repeatedly in the future! My hubby who is terribly picky about the cakes he will eat had two slices right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Just made this cake and have to say it great! I did add some extra apples b/c i had to use them but what a great easy recipe. Will definitely make again - thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This cake is delicious and stays moist. I made it for a holiday and it was a bit hit with everyone having seconds. I had never baked a cake before and this recipe was easy and delicious. It only needs to cook for just under an hour and I added an extra apple - perfect!. I didn't make the brown sugar sauce. It didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
So moist and really delicious! Only change I made was I added a third apple to the mix and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I ended up layering the apples between the two batter layers and it resembled a combination between cake and pie. I cooked it for 50 minutes and the cake was done. The bottom could have benefited from a little more heat so I will cook it on the bottom rack next time. My spring form pan was in the garage sale box but I am saving it to use for this recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I very much enjoyed this cake. Very moist. I used about 2 and 1/2 apples, 375 for 1 hour. The reason I gave it four stars was the crust. The rest of the cake was cooked perfectly, but the crust was a little too hard. I'm not sure if there was anything I could have done to keep it from getting so hard. I'm not a huge fan of crusts in the first place, but my boyfriend agreed. I will definitely make this again, but perhaps I will try a different pan or a lower temperature for a longer amount of time. Also, very filling. I just ate two pieces (more than enough, and I feel a little ill. That's my fault though, shouldn't over do it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States