Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I'm glad to be one of the first few reviewers of this recipe. I have an abundance of apples this Fall and was looking for ways to use them. I made the recipe exactly as it is written and it was very good! So moist and flavorful...I will make it again and again. We took the suggestion of the submitter and put a dollop of yogurt on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good! Did not have the vanilla yogurt so just doubled the sour cream! I doubled the recipe and it fit nicely in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the best coffee cake recipe I've ever made... since I didn't have sour cream, I just used all yogurt instead of the sour cream, and loved it! I've made it 4 times since the first time I tried it... My husband and family love it!! Thanks for sharing it Nancy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Fabulous! I doubled this for Sunday breakfast and my family of 5 devoured the whole thing by 3pm. I used sucanat instead of sugar and gala apples instead of granny smith, tossing them with the juice from 1/2 lemon before adding to the batter. A word of caution: don't over mix the dough as that can lead to a tough texture; mix the dry ingredients well, mix the wet ingredients well, and then gently mix the whole thing just until everything is incorporated. Thanks for this great recipe, the kids are already asking me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was really, really good. We have been trying to cut back on our sugar intake, and I should've cut the brown sugar down in this recipe. It was really sweet - so sweet that next time I will HALF the brown sugar in the batter. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Super tasty breakfast cake recipe that we all really enjoyed! I used a large fuji apple since that's what I had, and replaced the yogurt with additional sour cream and otherwise followed the recipe as written. Delicious - the texture was great as well. 35 minutes was perfect to get a nice crunchy texture on top and tender cake crumb. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I've made this cake about 10 times now for birthdays, special breakfasts and when I need to use up apples. It is delicious! I use more apples (3-4) and cinnamon because I like a lot of fruit and my husband likes copious amounts of cinnamon. I've tried five or six different varieties of apples and all work well. It takes about an hour to bake with all the extra moisture. My three year old loves to help and it is always a hit. This is a simple recipe that is really great! Thanks for this wonderful crowd pleaser with less butter and sugar than other cakes this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made it yesterday and it came out just delicious! All reviews are always helpful! My only review would be that I wanted to make this recipe double, but only had plain non fat yogur and buttermilk, so I used both instead of sour cream or vanilla yogur. I always love to use a little bit of nutmeg in my recipes You will never regret this cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made this for a Christmas brunch and it was a big hit. I followed the directions as written and it was moist and delicious. It was easy, but it took a little time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Have it in the oven right now, but I can already tell this is going to be a real keeper. The batter is thick and yummy. Was easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States