Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I love the heavy use of apples in this recipe - don't skimp! If using a Bundt pan, *double* the recipe & bake ~8-10 minutes longer (I went 43 minutes & it turned out perfectly.) Cut apples small and coat with squeezes of fresh lemon juice, which adds a lovely touch to the flavor. I agree w/ another reviewer here who said this recipe is too sweet! Half the brown sugar - I used 3/4 cup for a double recipe & it was still sweeter than I would have wanted for breakfast. I used sour cream plus a fatty plain Greek yogurt (Fage), adding a bit more vanilla. Delicious. Recommend the granny smith apples as the recipe indicates. I forewent the crumble & dusted with powdered sugar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These taste great! The flavor is spectacular. My only concern is how it cooked. The center did collapse a bit, and the middle was pretty doughy. Any ideas on how to bake it better in the oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erised Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Absolutely yummy ! Super easy to make, I doubled it and it came out perfect. Thank you for sharing! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe was so simple to make and the everyone LOVED it!! The topping came out crunchy and tasty while the cake was extremely moist and delicious!! Tasted like something you get at a Fall fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Delicious! Followed the recipe, except only used 1/2C brown sugar. I was afraid that there was not enough batter for the apples, but it turned out just fine. Nice and moist, not overly sweet. Definitely a keeper - great cake to bring to a brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Kids and guests loved this! I am overseas where sour cream is hard to find, but I used all vanilla yogurt and it turned out great! I used three apples for a double recipe, and it was a good amount, although I may try 4 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have made this many times now since I found it in the fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the best coffee cake recipe I've ever made... since I didn't have sour cream, I just used all yogurt instead of the sour cream, and loved it! I've made it 4 times since the first time I tried it... My husband and family love it!! Thanks for sharing it Nancy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I've made this cake about 10 times now for birthdays, special breakfasts and when I need to use up apples. It is delicious! I use more apples (3-4) and cinnamon because I like a lot of fruit and my husband likes copious amounts of cinnamon. I've tried five or six different varieties of apples and all work well. It takes about an hour to bake with all the extra moisture. My three year old loves to help and it is always a hit. This is a simple recipe that is really great! Thanks for this wonderful crowd pleaser with less butter and sugar than other cakes this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is a jaw-dropper. The look, the smell, the taste is exceptional! It has made it into our recipe books as holiday morning breakfast (every holiday)! The only adjustments I make are minor: whole wheat instead all-purpose flour, plain yogurt in place of both vanilla yogurt and sour cream, and only 1/2 C. brown sugar in the batter instead of 3/4 C. Thank you for an incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States