Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I substituted butter for the shortening and used a LOT more apples. I used about 6 small apples. The extra apples made the cake really chunky and really good! I put it all in one medium size spring form pan and cooked it for 70 minutes. The cake was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
LOVED it. Very moist. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter and it came out great! My Mom swears it's perfect, but my sister and I agree that next time I'll add more apples (maybe 2 cups) and add flour to the topping to make it more of a crumble. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I've made this recipe 3 times in the past 2 weeks using a stick of unsalted butter instead of butter flavored shortening (I mean, really....) and 2 granny smith apples. The first time I made two small cakes as the recipe directs and took one to my dad. They were good but a bit dry - 5 fewer minutes in the oven and they would have been perfect. The 2nd and 3rd time I used a tube pan w/removable bottom and baked it for 45 minutes. After sliding a long spatula under the cooled cake I was able to remove it from the bottom of the pan and slide it onto a serving dish. I think this way works better - the cake is quite good, my husband loves it for breakfast and I will probably keep it in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
it is delicious..... so moist, and so easy to make. I made it in a 10x14 pan and it came out perfectly added extra cinnamon as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Pretty decent cake. It was better when cooled. Used butter instead of shortening and added 3tbsp milk otherwise I made exactly as stated. Next time I will add a little cinnamon to the cake batter. I noticed that someone said it was dry. You have to remember when checking the cake that there are apples in there so the crumbs/wetness you may get when checking with a toothpick may be the apples. I almost made that mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I thinnly sliced apple and placed them in between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stryker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Oh, this was delicious!! I made half the recipe using a 9” springform pan. My only deviations from the recipe were to add 2 T. milk and 1/2 t. cinnamon to the batter. I decided to serve this as a dessert, so to make it a little more decadent, I warmed each piece in the microwave, drizzled it with caramel sauce and topped it with whipped cream and a sprig of mint. I would definitely make this again, but with one change – I would double the amount of walnuts in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wow! This is a great recipie! We have a lot of apples from our trees that we peel and freeze to use in the winter and this recipie is a winner. The only thing I didn't do is use nuts in the topping and I added one more T of butter for the topping and melted it before I combined it with the brown sugar and cinnamon. This is just more like the topping that I use on my good old standard coffee cake. I am also sure I had more apples than called for -- maybe 4 C before frozen. This coffee cake was so moist and flavorful -- and sweet, but not too sweet for us, well, as you can see, I think is a great recipie. I will use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I did add cinnamon like other suggested and doubled the apples... it was to die for... my husband has already finished the entire cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent Cake I didnt have shortening so I used butter which worked just as well. My kids loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States