Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I've made this recipe 3 times in the past 2 weeks using a stick of unsalted butter instead of butter flavored shortening (I mean, really....) and 2 granny smith apples. The first time I made two small cakes as the recipe directs and took one to my dad. They were good but a bit dry - 5 fewer minutes in the oven and they would have been perfect. The 2nd and 3rd time I used a tube pan w/removable bottom and baked it for 45 minutes. After sliding a long spatula under the cooled cake I was able to remove it from the bottom of the pan and slide it onto a serving dish. I think this way works better - the cake is quite good, my husband loves it for breakfast and I will probably keep it in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Fantastic coffee cake. But could use a drizzle icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I substituted butter for the shortening and used a LOT more apples. I used about 6 small apples. The extra apples made the cake really chunky and really good! I put it all in one medium size spring form pan and cooked it for 70 minutes. The cake was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This classic coffee cake was delicious. A little too much sugar for the topping (my husband disagreed and thought the amount of sugar was just fine). Would definitely make again! Used butter instead of butter flavoured shortening (just because I didn't have it on hand) and turned out great. My dough was a little dry (could it be because I used whole wheat flour?), so I added about 2 tablespoons of orange juice just to moisten a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I thinnly sliced apple and placed them in between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stryker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
excellent, very easy, very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Pretty decent cake. It was better when cooled. Used butter instead of shortening and added 3tbsp milk otherwise I made exactly as stated. Next time I will add a little cinnamon to the cake batter. I noticed that someone said it was dry. You have to remember when checking the cake that there are apples in there so the crumbs/wetness you may get when checking with a toothpick may be the apples. I almost made that mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
LOVED it. Very moist. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter and it came out great! My Mom swears it's perfect, but my sister and I agree that next time I'll add more apples (maybe 2 cups) and add flour to the topping to make it more of a crumble. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wow! This is a great recipie! We have a lot of apples from our trees that we peel and freeze to use in the winter and this recipie is a winner. The only thing I didn't do is use nuts in the topping and I added one more T of butter for the topping and melted it before I combined it with the brown sugar and cinnamon. This is just more like the topping that I use on my good old standard coffee cake. I am also sure I had more apples than called for -- maybe 4 C before frozen. This coffee cake was so moist and flavorful -- and sweet, but not too sweet for us, well, as you can see, I think is a great recipie. I will use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe was really easy to make, but I did substitute margerine for the butter flavored shortening. I also added about 1/4 c milk to the batter to thin it out a little, and a few tablespoons of flour to the crumble topping for texture. The texture was excellent, and I would definitely make this cake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States