Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent cake!! I substituted plain Greek Yogurt for Sour cream and added 1 tsp cinnamon to the cake batter. I received high praise for this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I loved this. I made one pan (half) and it was perfect for breakfast for my family of 5 with leftovers for sunday morning. I have been looking for an apple coffee cake. I ran out of sour cream and used organic vanilla yogurt (rich) and left out the nuts (i love them but the kids don't). I also used butter as I don't like the taste of shortening. I bake alot and my kids LOVED this coffee cake. Definitely making again-maybe even this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Very Good, but too much brown sugar on the top. Half would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I too substituted butter for the shortening as well as using fat-free plain Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. My 12 year old has declared the best coffee cake ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a very good recipe that the only fault I could find is that there is no way you will get this made in 20 min (not if you peel fresh apples as the recipe calls for..so if you used canned apple pie filling, then you might be able to pull this off). Aside from that minor detail, the recipe can easily be altered to fit your needs. You could probably used many seasonal fruits and this would still be a great recipe. I don't like the butter flavored shortenings, so I just used regular shortening. Recipe makes a very nice sized pan that easily feeds a good sized group. I believe you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Awesome! I got so many compliments. To make this faster, I left the butter out of the topping, and it ended up like a crumb topping (for a muffin) - totally fine. The flax seed oil egg substitution works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Oh, this was delicious!! I made half the recipe using a 9” springform pan. My only deviations from the recipe were to add 2 T. milk and 1/2 t. cinnamon to the batter. I decided to serve this as a dessert, so to make it a little more decadent, I warmed each piece in the microwave, drizzled it with caramel sauce and topped it with whipped cream and a sprig of mint. I would definitely make this again, but with one change – I would double the amount of walnuts in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. The crumb topping melted when it was baked, but that did not turn anyone away from seconds. Brought it to the office and hand to print copies of the recipe. Considering making a caramel drizzle for the top as well! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent Cake I didnt have shortening so I used butter which worked just as well. My kids loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States