Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Delicious & a fav w/ the family. Here are my modifications to the batter for a LOW FAT and more flavorful alternative: 1) Instead of 1/2 c butter flavored shortening, I used 2 T softened butter plus 4oz unsweetened applesauce (Mott's single serve ); 2) instead of 1c sugar, 3/4c brown sugar (lower amount due to addition of applesauce); 3) instead of 2 whole eggs, 2 egg whites (not 3 as the applesauce adds moisture); 4) low fat or fat free sour cream. ADD to the batter: 1/2 t ground cardamom, 1/4 t fresh ground nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Moist, delicious, and it almost didn't make it to the event I made it for. So so so very delicious. Make sure to follow the instructions about alternating the flower and sour cream, it made it so fluffy. I'm salivating just writing this and dreaming of when I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
So easy, so delicious! The hardest part about making this cake is peeling the apples :) really great recipe that I'll be making again. I used nearly 1.5 cups of sour cream just because I wanted to use up what was in the container. Also, I sub'd butter for the shortening. Next time I'd add some cinnamon to the batter itself! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made the following substitutions to make this a healthier version that I feel comfortable feeding to my family. In place of the shortening, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce; I used 1/2 cup evaporated cane sugar and 1/2 cup organic sugar, instead of all purpose, I ground 1 cup of soft wheat (pastry wheat) and 1 cup of rolled oats (for oat flour), 3 apples, and used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt. Extremely moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Made a few changes: added 1T milk, used 4 med apples (approx 2 1/2 c chopped), added 2t cinnamon to batter, substituted margarine for shortening, substituted peach yogurt for sour cream. Omitted topping on half, added chopped pecans to half. Dropped by Tablespoon into greased muffin pans, made 24 muffins, baked for 25 minutes. Very versatile, quick, and works well with what's on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Substituted the sour cream for plain greek yogurt and doubled the apples. This coffee cake does not last a full day in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpsm1th

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Love it Moist and tasty I put pecans on top of the cake then I put the sugar topping so they don't get burned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This coffee cake was a hit at home and at the office!!! I did add cinnamon to the batter as someone had suggested. Someone else suggusted not to leave any longer that the 30-35 min, even tho when toothpick testing you need to remember your moist apples in there, and that more than likely your cake done in the suggested time frame, I followed this and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Barrett-Casselberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dexter, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Great & very moist. I doubled the recipe, added cinnamon to the batter, and added extra apples. It made 2 9x13 pans plus one 8x8. I also used butter instead of shortening. I added a handful of oats to the topping also. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The only thing I changed was using butter instead of shortning, because I didn't have butter shortning and I added the teaspoon of cinnamon in the batter as well as the crumb topping. The cake turned out extremely moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States