Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made it as written the first time, and it was good. Since then, I've made it several times with some modifications. I use regular butter instead of the shortening. I also use at least double the apples in the recipe (when it's being poured into the pan it looks almost like more apple than batter) Into the batter, I add 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, and 1/8 tsp ground mace. For the topping I subbed chopped pecans for the walnuts. This is amazing warm or cold. My hubby & kids ask for it for breakfast/brunch frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBRARYGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
WOW! My daughter made the best apple coffee cake I had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great cake! Used butter, unsweetened Greek yogurt, 4 c. apples. Will add cinnamon to the batter next time. Many compliments,..not too sweet...great for breakfast or dessert or snack. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We adjusted a bit. We halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening, and added a 1/2 tbsp of cinnamon to the cake. We used Brummel&Brown instead of margarine for the topping. It still tasted good, but would recommend sticking with butter or margarine. Fantanstic recipe, though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I used fresh peaches and it was delicious. I think it will work with most fresh summer fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very tasty, but shy of being a recipe I'd want to share with everyone. I followed some of the suggestions: melted the butter for the crumb topping and added a couple tablespoons of flour. I added cinnamon and chai spice to the batter, and I can really taste and enjoy the added flavor. I made the cake in one 9x9 inch pan - takes 40-50 minutes at 350F. Cake is fairly crumbly and delicious. I do think it would go well with vanilla ice cream if you wanted to serve as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Pretty yummy, but mine looked nothing like the photo. The topping (minus nuts because my husband is allergic) melted and some even ended up on the bottom - nothing crunchy about it. Maybe adding some flour to make it more like a streusel? Anyway, it tasted good and I made extra to freeze. Added some milk and used butter as others recommended... forgot to add the cinnamon to the batter but I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
so moist and delicious!!i made this cake with half white sugar and half brown sugar. I also added cinnamon and freshly grated nutmeg into the batter. It only needed to be baked for 20 minutes in two 8 inch rounds. Also I made a nice homemade maple whipped cream. Used real maple syrup of course and it was to die for so good! i will def keep this recipe as one of my favorites:)oh also used real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanjere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This cake is wonderful :-) I changed a few things, I added 1tsp. of cinnamon to the batter and also added an extra tsp. to the topping. I used 3 cups of apples and didn't peel them. I baked it in a 13x9 baking pan for 35 min. I also made a glaze for the top after it had cooled. These changes made the cake so good that my husband said he had never eaten a better coffee cake. I will be making this cake often. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is awesome! Everyone I've made it for love it and can't get enough. I did use butter instead of the shortening and added more apples. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States