Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made it as written the first time, and it was good. Since then, I've made it several times with some modifications. I use regular butter instead of the shortening. I also use at least double the apples in the recipe (when it's being poured into the pan it looks almost like more apple than batter) Into the batter, I add 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, and 1/8 tsp ground mace. For the topping I subbed chopped pecans for the walnuts. This is amazing warm or cold. My hubby & kids ask for it for breakfast/brunch frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBRARYGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
WOW! My daughter made the best apple coffee cake I had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great cake! Used butter, unsweetened Greek yogurt, 4 c. apples. Will add cinnamon to the batter next time. Many compliments,..not too sweet...great for breakfast or dessert or snack. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We adjusted a bit. We halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening, and added a 1/2 tbsp of cinnamon to the cake. We used Brummel&Brown instead of margarine for the topping. It still tasted good, but would recommend sticking with butter or margarine. Fantanstic recipe, though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I used fresh peaches and it was delicious. I think it will work with most fresh summer fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very tasty, but shy of being a recipe I'd want to share with everyone. I followed some of the suggestions: melted the butter for the crumb topping and added a couple tablespoons of flour. I added cinnamon and chai spice to the batter, and I can really taste and enjoy the added flavor. I made the cake in one 9x9 inch pan - takes 40-50 minutes at 350F. Cake is fairly crumbly and delicious. I do think it would go well with vanilla ice cream if you wanted to serve as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Pretty yummy, but mine looked nothing like the photo. The topping (minus nuts because my husband is allergic) melted and some even ended up on the bottom - nothing crunchy about it. Maybe adding some flour to make it more like a streusel? Anyway, it tasted good and I made extra to freeze. Added some milk and used butter as others recommended... forgot to add the cinnamon to the batter but I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
so moist and delicious!!i made this cake with half white sugar and half brown sugar. I also added cinnamon and freshly grated nutmeg into the batter. It only needed to be baked for 20 minutes in two 8 inch rounds. Also I made a nice homemade maple whipped cream. Used real maple syrup of course and it was to die for so good! i will def keep this recipe as one of my favorites:)oh also used real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanjere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This cake is wonderful :-) I changed a few things, I added 1tsp. of cinnamon to the batter and also added an extra tsp. to the topping. I used 3 cups of apples and didn't peel them. I baked it in a 13x9 baking pan for 35 min. I also made a glaze for the top after it had cooled. These changes made the cake so good that my husband said he had never eaten a better coffee cake. I will be making this cake often. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is awesome! Everyone I've made it for love it and can't get enough. I did use butter instead of the shortening and added more apples. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States