Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was a really great alternative to plain old oatmeal and very easy to make. I had to simmer mine a bit longer than called for in the recipe before it thickened to the right consistency but it was worth it. I’ll definitely make this again and will definitely be experimenting with different types of fruit and juices. I also sprinkled a little bit of Splenda on the top, but probably more out of habit than because it actually needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
NO ONE in my 5 member family likes Oatmeal. But since we all agreed that this year (New Year's resolutions and all of that) we would try to eat healthier and to budget more wisely, we also all agreed that Oatmeal would be a good place to start. And after I tried 3 other Oatmeal recipes from this site, we unanimously agreed that this one is the absolute BEST! I scale the recipe to 8, use 1 cup "regular" applesauce instead of apples (too lazy to "set up"), toss in 2 T. butter (more out of habit than need) plus a fistful of raisins and set out both Cinnamon and Splenda (another "substitution" in our quest for a healthier lifestyle) so that "who wants" can flavor theirs to taste. SO SUCCESSFUL that my 23 year old son (you know him -- the one who will NEVER leave home :)) came downstairs this morning and said: "Morning, Mom. Breakfast ready yet?" Now THAT'S a 5! (Oh, yes, any of our "leftovers" are set down for our 2 dogs. Result: NO leftovers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My husband raved about this recipe. He loved the taste and told me that it was very filling - he wasn't hungry for quite awhile. He also said he could eat this every morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMES_MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Yum! This is a great, simple oatmeal. I scaled the recipe down to serve one, and made these substitutions... I used applesauce instead of juice, added a pinch of nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon, added blueberries (at the time I added oats to the pot), and used vanilla hemp milk instead of dairy milk. I also added a Tbsp. of ground flaxseed after putting it in my bowl, and sprinkled with walnuts. SO GOOD! (Now that I think about it, I guess I made a lot of changes to the original recipe, but it was a great starting off point & just delicious!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Very Yummy!! And healthy too. I added applesauce instead of the juice because I didn't have any on hand. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is delicious! I make it for my 1 year old son who also loves it! It puts a yummy twist on plain oatmeal! I put it in the magic bullet after it has thicken up to puree it for my baby! Great recipe, thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
When ever we make oatmeal this it the way we do it. We have a lot of apples in the fall and we freeze quart size bags of apple filing. We double the recipe for this oatmeal, adding a bag of frozen apples with the water while it heats to boil, and omit the apple juice. We also add about a quarter cup of brown sugar. Love this oatmeal. We eat it all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is exactly the same way I make oatmeal EVERY morning and it's amazing! And soo good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This is an excellent oatmeal recipe. I was looking for one that I could make for our 10 month old twins. I used 2 gala apples instead of 1 and I blended it to a chunky consistency and added about 1/2 a cup of apple juice to reduce the thickness. Our babies are very picky eaters and both ate this without hesitation. It was delicious! Definitely great for babies, children and adults and VERY EASY TO MAKE! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This oatmeal was delicious!! I did add a teaspoon of brown sugar to my bowl, but I like sweet oatmeal. This was also simple to make. A delicious Sunday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States