Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Yum! This is a great, simple oatmeal. I scaled the recipe down to serve one, and made these substitutions... I used applesauce instead of juice, added a pinch of nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon, added blueberries (at the time I added oats to the pot), and used vanilla hemp milk instead of dairy milk. I also added a Tbsp. of ground flaxseed after putting it in my bowl, and sprinkled with walnuts. SO GOOD! (Now that I think about it, I guess I made a lot of changes to the original recipe, but it was a great starting off point & just delicious!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great for breakfast! Like others, I used applesauce instead of apple juice. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg as well. I didn't top mine with milk I topped it with a dollup of fat free vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
yummy! The whole family loved this. I added raisins and walnuts. Make it the night before and pop it in the microwave for a quick and nutritious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was an amazing recipe and just so easy! No hassle for eggs or butter .etc I, and my whole family enjoyed this delicious snack. Instead of using apple juice or store bought apple sauce, I cut up a couple chunks of another apple and threw it in the blender - homemade applesauce! Also, i do recommend you add some sort of sweetening agent I popped in 1/4 cup of brown sugar and at the end, I put in as much milk as I thought i needed - just eye it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
The apple flavor is very mild. I think next time I would increase the apple juice and decrease the water. I added a generous dash (just less than 1/8 tsp)of salt to the water. Since I was using quick cooking oats I let the apples cook in the liquid for 2 minutes before adding the quick oats and continued to cook for one more minute. I like my oatmeal on the sweet side so I sprinkled sugar over it before eating. I would probably make this again, but with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Very Yummy!! And healthy too. I added applesauce instead of the juice because I didn't have any on hand. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Photo by props4theatre
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This has found its place in my breakfast rotation. No more packet oatmeal for me! I skip the milk (lactose intolerant). Refrigerate half and microwave it for breakfast the next day it's still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I did not like this at all. even used a bit more cinnamon and still seemed to have no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Pretty good! I used apple sauce instead of apple juice since I didn't have any juice on hand. I like chunks, so I kept my apples pretty big. I used a new variety from Safeway - honeycrisp - but my husband said he'd prefer something even sweeter (golden delicious?). We both added brown sugar at the end... Pretty easy to make and a fun way to start the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Good idea I didn't actually make this but I made oatmeal then added applesauce, vanilla, brown sugar and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States