Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Just by reading the recipe I knew that cooking it with water would make it very bland. I used 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk in place of the water and 1/3 cup of apple cider in place of 1/4 cup juice. I also stirred in 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. I kept the cinnamon at 1 teaspoon, but didn't pour milk over the oatmeal. I thought it turned out good, but felt it still needed just a bit more flavor. Next time I'm going to use equal parts almond milk and apple cider and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was good, but not great. Even with the addition of brown sugar, which about half the reviews suggest to add, it was not wonderful. I enjoyed it, but none of the three kids cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
With all due respect, what is the big secret about oatmeal?? If you don't find it fun, put in some peaches, or apple sauce, or more sugar, or some maple syrup. There must be something more exciting.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
this is a great recipie!!!! i didnt have any apple juice in my cabnet so i just used orange juice. everybody in my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poquoson, Virginia, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this oatmeal for breakfast today and served it to my dad and sister. I followed the recipe almost exactly, adding a little nutmeg with the cinnamon. It was alright, but could use a little tweaking. My dad suggested salt and I think I would use less liquid next time and cover the sliced apples with cinnamon and nutmeg, before boiling them in the liquid. I tried topping the oatmeal with white sugar, but it still tasted pretty bland, so then I tried brown sugar and it turned out delicious. I will keep trying and experimenting. This is a great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Mmmmmm...so easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We changed it up cause for some reason I bought the wrong ingrediants. Applesauce not apples. Not very good that way. Will keep trying with this recipe cause it has such good potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I thought that this recipe was very bland. I would have decreased the amount of water and added more apple juice. I ended up adding some brown sugar to it at the end and increasing the amount of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I almost never make normal oatmeal anymore. It's always apple cinnamon, and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I like the hearty option of oatmeal for breakfast but grow tired of the same old. I liked this option but it was bland without any salt, needs a pinch. I used rolled oats so increased cooking time was necessary as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States