Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This just didn't have enough ... umph ... for me. I would suggest adding more cinnamon and maybe some nutmeg. I didn't use any milk either... just don't like the idea of cold milk over hot oatmeal. Otherwise, a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I've made this recipe three times. The first time I made it without the apples and added apple sauce instead of apple juice (I like a thick oatmeal not runny so less juice sounded good). The recipe was alright not very flavorful, and very runny. The second time I made the recipe and followed it to a T. I didn't like it though, I found it bland and it tasted more like cinnamon soup than oatmeal. Despite my disappointment and failed attempts in making an apple cinnamon oatmeal recipe that actually tasted good on a cold fall morning. Not ready to given to defeat I pioneered into my kitchen this morning to try one more time. I found success!! Well, there are still some more tweaks but it is far better and more flavorful. Not mention it actually tasted like a hardy oatmeal instead of oatmeal cinnamon soup. Instead of apple juice I used apple sauce, I used a granny apple (delicious)! I used 1 & 1/4 cup rolled oats. Added two teaspoons ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. ground ginger, 1 pinch cloves, 1 pinch nutmeg, and 1 cup milk. I added the milk at the end of cooking to let it warm up and sweeten the oatmeal. I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar while cooking the apples. This recipe is much better and far more flavorful. Very spicey but I love that in my oatmeal. It hit the spot on a cold fall morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahgw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I used a local orchard's unpasteurized fresh-pressed apple cider, chopped dried apples and 'Apple Pie Spice Mix' (recipe by RobertaJ) for the juice, fresh apple and cinnamon. All the oatmeal needed was a little touch of brown sugar at serving. Very warming breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is really good. I am on a diet to lose weight and this recipe is great to get you started in the morning. I substituted simply apple juice for regular apple juice I can't have processed sugar(allergic). I also added nutmeg and used more juice and less water to give it a little more flavor. I have had a hard time with the bland options out there for healthy breakfast foods and this one made my day! I can eat healthy and it tastes good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I had steel cut oatmeal that I cooked, not rolled oats. When the oatmeal was done I added some finely diced fuji apples to the oatmeal (I like the crunch), then a little apple juice to make the oatmeal more soft and add flavor. I topped it off with a 1/4 cup of mott's cinnamon applesauce and to that I added a light sprinkle of light brown sugar and a little soy milk and stirred. I was delighted with this lovely apple flavored oatmeal with a hint of cinnamon. This was tasty and no doubt healthy. The fuji apples gives this a light sweetness and nice texture, which I appreciated, nothing overpowering or "tart". I would have given this a 5 stars but because I didn't cook the apples in apple juce and instead finely diced them into my oatmeal it is a 4 stars. This will be part of my breakfast menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Great recipe, I used the apple juice for the recommended amount of water and water for the recommended amount of apple juice, and I initially cooked the apples in the apple juice, water, cinnamon and I added 2 tablespoon of brown sugar. Then in a separate pan I began cooking the oatmeal with 1/2 cup of milk then added the apples and juice from the pan to the oatmeal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Just didn't care for this. Definitely needed to be sweetened a bit, so I added some sugar, but that still wasn't enough. In all fairness, could be that our standard has become the packet stuff, since I haven't eaten freshly-cooked oatmeal since I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by props4theatre
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This has found its place in my breakfast rotation. No more packet oatmeal for me! I skip the milk (lactose intolerant). Refrigerate half and microwave it for breakfast the next day it's still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Definitely needed sugar... I doubled the recipe and added 1/4 cup brown sugar, and added some flax seeds. I like it as is but my son will need more brown sugar when I nuke the leftovers for him in the morning. I at least quadrupled the cinnamon, too. This is exactly what I was craving only sweeter and cinnamon-y-er - thanks for making a pregnant girl happy at 11 at night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States