Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I had steel cut oatmeal that I cooked, not rolled oats. When the oatmeal was done I added some finely diced fuji apples to the oatmeal (I like the crunch), then a little apple juice to make the oatmeal more soft and add flavor. I topped it off with a 1/4 cup of mott's cinnamon applesauce and to that I added a light sprinkle of light brown sugar and a little soy milk and stirred. I was delighted with this lovely apple flavored oatmeal with a hint of cinnamon. This was tasty and no doubt healthy. The fuji apples gives this a light sweetness and nice texture, which I appreciated, nothing overpowering or "tart". I would have given this a 5 stars but because I didn't cook the apples in apple juce and instead finely diced them into my oatmeal it is a 4 stars. This will be part of my breakfast menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Great recipe, I used the apple juice for the recommended amount of water and water for the recommended amount of apple juice, and I initially cooked the apples in the apple juice, water, cinnamon and I added 2 tablespoon of brown sugar. Then in a separate pan I began cooking the oatmeal with 1/2 cup of milk then added the apples and juice from the pan to the oatmeal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Just didn't care for this. Definitely needed to be sweetened a bit, so I added some sugar, but that still wasn't enough. In all fairness, could be that our standard has become the packet stuff, since I haven't eaten freshly-cooked oatmeal since I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by props4theatre
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This has found its place in my breakfast rotation. No more packet oatmeal for me! I skip the milk (lactose intolerant). Refrigerate half and microwave it for breakfast the next day it's still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Definitely needed sugar... I doubled the recipe and added 1/4 cup brown sugar, and added some flax seeds. I like it as is but my son will need more brown sugar when I nuke the leftovers for him in the morning. I at least quadrupled the cinnamon, too. This is exactly what I was craving only sweeter and cinnamon-y-er - thanks for making a pregnant girl happy at 11 at night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Good idea I didn't actually make this but I made oatmeal then added applesauce, vanilla, brown sugar and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this mostly because my son has the instant nearly every day so I thought he'd like this but he didn't care for it. I thought it was good, but I don't have it as often as he does. I'd give it 4, he'd give it 2 so I'm settling on 3 stars. It was easy to make, but I just don't know what I could do to improve it for my son to like it better. I always look for homemade versions of stuff they have regularly but this just didn't work for us, I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I used applesauce in place of apple juice and add flax seeds. Turned out yummy but still lacking something? Needs more flavor but not sure from what ingredient...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
A little too bland for me, although it is a nice healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States