Apple-Cinnamon Farfel Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This kugel was delicious. But after searching 4 stores for the matzo farfel, I finally found it, only to realize that it's really just crushed matzo that I could have made myself by crushing Matzo I could have purchased at the first store. Very easy to make (with a food processor to shred the apples) and smells declicious when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This was good but too sweet for me. I tripled the recipe for a large seder I attended. It fit nicely in a 13x9 baking dish and I was able to make it the night before. We put it in the oven covered with foil at 250 while the seder was going on and took it out after about 45 min. It was still moist and great. It was served on the buffet with everything else instead of as a dessert. I think that was my first mistake. It was really good and the consistency was great, but I felt the sugar overpowered it. It actually had a sugar taste. There is a difference between something tasting sweet and something having a "sugar" taste. It did not go well with all the other food on the table. With apple and cinnamon you cannot go wrong, so I am not sure that I would go as low as half the sugar, but for tripling the recipe I would use just over a cup. I also took the advice of another reviewer and added an extra apple. I also opted to use Granny Smith apples. I cannot wait to make this again, just with lower sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Doesn't taste like a Passover recipe. Good enough to make all year round. Make for parents and requested another batch. Made it in a round cake pan and cut in wedges. Also made in muffin tins. Freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Very good and easy recipe. My family and friends are not big kugel eaters but we really enjoyed this. I doubled the recipe to make it in a 9 x 13 pan and it worked fine. The next time I made it, I cut down the sugar, added ground up almonds, raisins and dried cranberries. By the way -- you don't even need to peel the apples! I just put them in the processor (cored) but peel and all -- it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was wonderful! The smell when it was baking, filled my entire house with cinnamon. It's so easy to make (if you have a food processor), and it was fantastic. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9X13 pan for the same amount of time and it turned out fine. I wouldn't wait until Passover to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I didn't care for the texture. With the shredding of the apples and beating of the egg whites, I thought it was a lot of work. I took it to a seder and everyone thought it was average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Very tasty recipe. Probably would be good as a dessert served warm with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Pretty good - it disappeared in a flash. I made mine ahead of time and it deflated somewhat while it cooled, but I don't think anything was lost in flavour. I'm going to try adding another apple next time to make its taste stand out a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montreal mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
i made it erev passover and tasted it after it was done and it was so good i would definitly make it all year round
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is the first time i have tasted Farfel Kugel , and was dissapointed.Maybe im just not used to the taste . I love cinnamon and apple so thats why it does not get less stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States