Apple Cinnamon Breakfast Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gonefishn
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I'm always looking for new ways to use healthy quinoa and love this one for breakfast. I substituted the calories from the apple juice for brown sugar:) I used all water to make quinoa and 2 tsp. brown sugar instead of agave. I thought 1 tsp cinnamon might be a little much for this little recipe so I went with 1/2 tsp. Thank you for a nice quinoa breakfast recipe. Next time, I'm gonna try a banana and maybe 1/4 c. blueberries (a staple in my freezer from Costco) combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Have been making this every day for breakfast since Thanksgiving (it's Sunday now!) and love it. I've made it quite a few times over the past year or so too, and I keep coming back to it. The recipe is perfect in timing and ingredients in my experiences, though I normally put in half the apple at the first 8 minute mark to let it warm up and start sweating before things dry up. Then I put half #2 in along with a teaspoon of sugar and stir things up real well. By the time the second 10 minutes has gone by, the apples have gotten incredibly soft and most of the juice has been absorbed by the quinoa or boiled out. I'm actually wondering if people that are having problems with it getting too dry are simply letting it sit at too high a temperature. On my electric stove I start at 7/10 and lower it to 3.5/10 when it boils, and cover it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Not great, but not bad, might be better with maple syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
It was missing something - a little plain. I think the adding of some half and half could help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
good, very basic.I would add dried fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
There was not enough liquid when it was time to add the apples - I added at least 1/3 cup more water and apple juice to cook the apples. I also added raisins just for fun. I agree with others that it is a little bit bland. I also think there was too much cinnamon. I would cut it in half if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
needs more liquid than recipe stated and longer cooking time. Otherwise not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Not sure what I could have done wrong! When it came time to add the apples there was NO liquid left and the quinoa had burnt to the bottom of the pan. I did exact measurements and thought it seemed like there wasn't enough liquid but since it was my first time I followed exactly. I never even got to taste it as I only had one apple. I'll try again but any suggestions on the juice/water/quinoa ratio?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States