Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made these chops tonight. Whew, they were so yummy. I tweaked the recipe a little bit. I cored and peeled 2 Red Delicious apples and sliced them up very thinly. Then I peeled and sliced 2 onion. I sautéed them in a skillet with a little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper while the pork chops were browning. I also added the sherry to the apple cider concentrate. When the chops were ready to go into the oven, I poured the Worcestershire sauce over them and then about 2/3 of the cider concentrate/sherry mixture. Then I spooned the sautéed apple/onion mixture over the chops. I sprinkled about 1 Tbs. of Worcestershire sauce over that, and then poured the remaining cider concentrate/sherry mixture over that. The chops I used were rather thick, so I baked them for 35 minutes. My husband gobbled them up and said I could make them again anytime. A keeper for sure, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This recipe is very easy and tasty. I did not have frozen cider and used regular apple cider, and they came out delicious and moist. Cooked 375 for less than 20 minutes. Forgot to add sherry and still great. The more you season the chops, the better they are. Great combination of spices. Served with mashed sweet potatoes and buttured white acorn squash (which i decided I like better than the green acorn squash). I will definitely make again, and thanks for tasty, quick recipe for pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
My husband loved this! I did make a few small changes. I didn't have poultry seasoning, so I used seasoning salt. Also, I did not have cider concentrate, so I also used regular cider. It seemed to work fine for me. Last, I thought I had sherry in my pantry, and surprise, DH used the last of it a week ago. So I substituted white wine vinegar, and we really enjoyed the flavor. I noted that previous reviews said the sauce did not thicken, so I added about 1tsp. of cornstarch, and it mixed it well. Thickened nicely. I served this with rice pilaf, and it really complimented the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Everyone in the family loved this recipe. I made a few substitutions though...I used apple cider and two tblsp of apple butter instead of apple cider concentrate, and I browned the pork chops after I seasoned them and dreged them in flour. Then I took the chops out and set aside, added apple slices and half a chopped onion, to the skillet until carmelized. After that I put the chops back in, added the rest of the ingredients to the skillet, turned it down to low and covered it, and simmered for about 30 min or so, until done. It made an awesome sauce! To thicken the sauce I added a bowlkick, tblsp butter melted with flour added to it until it's like a paste. Not to sweet, just right! Try cream sherry instead, it's way more fragrent and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
My hubby went nuts over this dish. He said I win the expert chef award! I read all the reviews and i also wasn't able to find cider at this time of year so i added nutmeg and cinamon. I also only cooked the chops for 16 minutes in the oven since everyone said theirs was overdone and mine came out PERFECT! I also thinly sliced apples and onions and sauteed them with the concentrate, worsheshire and sherry mixture, when the chops were almost done I brought the sauce to a rolling boil for about 4 to 6 minutes and it thickened to a sweet perfection. My hubby said it was like having desert for dinner and he ooohh yeahed as he ate way too much of it! Mashed potatoes is the perfect match as well! Read all the reviews they make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie143

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I made this dish for my fiance, and she thought it was the best pork chops she's ever had. I cooked 2 chops instead of 4, but still baked for 25 minutes, so they were a tad over done- but only a little. Otherwise, it was perfect, and we will definitely be having them the next time we host a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
The flavor was excellent on these, but my chops, too, came out very dry as another said. I'll try this again just in the skillet without baking or maybe with much less time. My sauce thickened up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomMakesItBetter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
WOW...this recipe is fantastic!! My significant other loves pork and I'm always looking for different ways to prepare it so that it does not become dry. The pork loin chops were tender and juicy and the sauce and seasonings only enhanced the flavor. When I first found this recipe, I was afraid that 25 minutes in a 375 degree oven would dry the pork loin chops out, but the apple cider helps to keep them moist. An absolutely perfect, no-fuss meal...I served this with a spinach salad and garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Excellent meal, though 25 mins seems too long to cook the pork - 20 would probably be adequate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because I really enjoyed this dish. I loved the contrast between the spicy and the sweet. It makes a great sauce for dipping. My husband, however, didn't care for the sweet taste. That's just his personal taste...nothing wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States