Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very easy dish to make and the sauce is quite tasty. I took others advice and adjusted the coooking time in the oven so they wouldn't overcook and added thinly sliced apple and onion as the sauce cooked. Definetely will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made it exactly as written with the exception of the apple cider. I used apple juice 12 oz. frozen (never found or even saw frozen cider before). The sauce didn't thicken maybe because of the extra juice or the fact it was juice and not cider but who cares, I eat prime rib with au jus and it isn't a thick sauce. I tell you this was a huge hit even without the cider. I just dribbled it on the chops (well, ok...it was so good it ended up as a pool across the chops and potatoes) and it was very very good. I will make this again...I do not plan on changing any part of the recipe (just using juice instead of cider because I can't find cider). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Delicious taste. Even though I cut downt he cooking time, the pork still was pretty tough. It was like chewing pork chop gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Simonelli Fujs
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooknmama2
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Delicious! I omitted the sherry and added very thinly sliced onions and apples when making the sauce. It also looks wonderful for company. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
loved it! and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
We made this exactly as written; we always do the first time we try something new. Anyway, the sauce didn't thicken, so I left it on medium-high heat to boil and by the time I went to pour it on the chops, it had virtually carmelized to the point of being like a candy apple coating! Fortunately, the juices from the chops blended well with some of the sauce, so it wasn't a bomb at all! We really enjoyed the flavors, but next time, I'll pay closer attention to the sauce's consistency. Great flavors, great recipe - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I was determined to stick exactly to this recipe so I could give an honest review based on the actual recipe. Well, I failed..lol. Like so many others stated, I couldn't find frozen apple cider so I used a container of frozen apple juice concentate. I also didn't have poultry seasoning so I used 1/2 teaspoon each of sage, rosemary, thyme & marjoram. After baking the chops (15 mins. would've been plenty), I added the sherry and boiled away. The aroma of worcestershire was really strong so I added a 4oz. cup of unsweetened applesauce to the liquid. Also, like many others, I did use cornstarch to thicken the sauce. The end result? Absolutely delicious! Based on my own personal tweaks, it was 5 stars but without them, I feel the 4 stars is good. It's all a personal preference. One note- I made 10 smaller, boneless chops and had plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwrm63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The current recipe calls for way too long for cooking the chops. They came out well done and dry (even with the sauce). I would cut way back to 10-12 mins on baking time. Couldn't find frozen apple cider, but used concentrate apple/raspberry blend which works fine. Also, takes forever to burn down sauce so if you're in a hurry, use some cornstarch & a little water and add to sauce. Thickens right up. I will make again with these changes. But with the current recipe, only rates 3 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was a very easy recipe to make. The pork chops were very tender and juicy. I didn't have any sherry so I used more of the apple cider. I aslo sauted apples and onions and put them on top of the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States