Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
loved it! and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
We made this exactly as written; we always do the first time we try something new. Anyway, the sauce didn't thicken, so I left it on medium-high heat to boil and by the time I went to pour it on the chops, it had virtually carmelized to the point of being like a candy apple coating! Fortunately, the juices from the chops blended well with some of the sauce, so it wasn't a bomb at all! We really enjoyed the flavors, but next time, I'll pay closer attention to the sauce's consistency. Great flavors, great recipe - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I was determined to stick exactly to this recipe so I could give an honest review based on the actual recipe. Well, I failed..lol. Like so many others stated, I couldn't find frozen apple cider so I used a container of frozen apple juice concentate. I also didn't have poultry seasoning so I used 1/2 teaspoon each of sage, rosemary, thyme & marjoram. After baking the chops (15 mins. would've been plenty), I added the sherry and boiled away. The aroma of worcestershire was really strong so I added a 4oz. cup of unsweetened applesauce to the liquid. Also, like many others, I did use cornstarch to thicken the sauce. The end result? Absolutely delicious! Based on my own personal tweaks, it was 5 stars but without them, I feel the 4 stars is good. It's all a personal preference. One note- I made 10 smaller, boneless chops and had plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwrm63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The current recipe calls for way too long for cooking the chops. They came out well done and dry (even with the sauce). I would cut way back to 10-12 mins on baking time. Couldn't find frozen apple cider, but used concentrate apple/raspberry blend which works fine. Also, takes forever to burn down sauce so if you're in a hurry, use some cornstarch & a little water and add to sauce. Thickens right up. I will make again with these changes. But with the current recipe, only rates 3 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was a very easy recipe to make. The pork chops were very tender and juicy. I didn't have any sherry so I used more of the apple cider. I aslo sauted apples and onions and put them on top of the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Girard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The taste seemed a bit "off"....I like applesauce with pork chops, so thought the cider would give it a rich flavor. I felt it was more of a sweetened pork flavor. The onions were a hit, but I'd pass on the cider next time and stick with apples on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. I couldn't find frozen apple cider, so I used frozen apple juice. Also didn't have any sherry, but this was great without it. The combination of spices and worstershire sauce was perfect. Husband and granddaughter are good eaters anyway, but really enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Breesport, New York, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Really excellent. I don't have a skillet that can go in the oven, so I preheated a casserole dish and transfered from the skillet to that. Then I had the skillet warm and ready for when the chops were done in the oven. I followed other's advice and reduced the cooking time to 20 minutes. Chops were perfect. It was taking a long time for the sauce to thicken, so I used a little cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was phenomenal. Like many others, I didn't have access to frozen apple cider, so I added a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon. All four of my kids (most of whom are picky eaters) gobbled this up. They even asked if we had leftovers so that they could have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States