Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Easy and Great tasting recipe. I was cooking a 1.5# pork loin roast and decided to use this recipe because I had apple cider from Thanksgiving. I seared the outside in a oven-proof pan (3 mins per side), then poured ingreds over loin and placed in oven for 30 mins. Removed and let loin rest on board. I put the 'sauce' back on a burner on high and added the sherry. **For those that could not get it to thicken--you reduce this on high or med/high heat for 10mins or so. You want the sauce to BOIL...this reduces the sauce. Watch it though-it may not look thick while boiling so take it off the heat-if it coats the back of a spoon well--it's probably done. Sherry seems to have a high sugar content which will help to thicken it so if you choose not to use it, this may affect how it thickens. I added raisens-about 1/4 c. while the sauce was reducing. Yummy addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Really, really great. My food snob husband even appreciated it. Definitely make it with mashed potatoes - the sauce is perfect with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Excellent recipe, make sure to use a good quality Sherry though, not a cooking sherry off the store shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This IS yummy! Made a few changes~didn't use the poultry seasoning or sherry. Dredged chops in seasoned flour first. Also browned some apple slices, which I put on top of chops, then added hard cider and simmered on stove top. Keep aneye on liquid while simmering~the cider quickly evaporates. Served with mashed and acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was as excellant recipe. My boyfriend said it was restaurant quality a dish to be prepared with company. He loved the garlic mashed potatoes. A real southeren dish. I read all the reviews before preparing this recipe and did like the cream sherry. I would also cook this for probably 18min. I cooked it for 20 and it was slightly tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
My husband and I just love this recipe. We usually share a thick porck chop. We cook this in a cast iron skillet and are able to put it right in the oven. Even using a thick pork chop we still only cook it the 20-25 minutes. It continues to cook while the sauce thickens. We serve the sauce over mashed potatoes. I always get rave reviews when I cook this for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
The sauce came out very sticky and way too sweet and the pork was just a little overdone. Should've read the reviews beforehand. Would have been better with apple cider (not concentrate) with cornstartch added if needed and baked for 20 minutes. Flavors together (worcestershire and apple) were delicious though. Will definitely make again with modifications. Quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Dolores, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
We just finished up the chops - well, we have leftovers, so we're looking forward to those! I also did not have/couldn't find apple CIDER concentrate so used apple juice concentrate. And it came in 12 oz instead of 8, so I made a few extra chops, but the sauce didn't thicken like I thought it should - a bit of cornstarch and water fixed that right up. We served it with some butternut squash and onions cooked down in butter, which I thought complimented the sweetness of the sauce nicely. We'll definitely use this recipe again! I like the flour-dredging idea too - maybe next time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEMTOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Sooo Good! I used fresh cider which I reduced and didn't have any sherry on hand so I improvised. I thickened the sauce by mixing a little cornstarch and water and whisking it into the simmering sauce. Then once it was at the consistencey I wanted, I removed it from the heat and added half and half. WOW- was this a hit with my family- even the pickiest eater loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This is fantastic!!! My very Aussie meat & 3 veg partner who does not like anything "fancy" was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States