Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I've made this recipe twice so far. The second time I decided to brine the pork chops in a bowl of ice water with 1 tbsp/cup each of salt and sugar and a dozen peppercorns for 6 hours. Wow, what a difference it makes for the meat! So moist and full of flavor. I used bottled apple cider reduced in a saucepan and added a chopped onion to the frying pain before adding the chops but otherwise followed the recipe. (no extra salt needed because of the brine). Very, very good. My family loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This war very good my husband and mil loved it i just used my own spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey'sAngel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made this along with the Red Chard and Caramelized Onions recipe (also on this site) and roasted red potatoes. Went along with the sauteed onions and apples on top as several other posters did. I also used regular apple cider rather than concentrate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Very good! I couldn't find the frozen apple cider concentrate so just used apple juice concentrate. I prepared only 2 pork chops (boneless) and cooked for only 20 minutes. Hubby loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Absolutely wonderful... one of the best meals I've made for my husband of 10 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Great chops!! The gravy especially made then and mashed potatoes, as recommended, was a perfect side! I could find the apple cider concentrate so I used regular apple cider like MHBMHB recommended and followed her tip on reducing the time, cooked 3 chops for a reduced time of 18 minutes. I used the tbsp butter/flour trick melabee suggested to help thicken the gravy faster, worked very well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was excellent. We wanted to try something different for thanksgiving so we made this for our dinner instead of turkey. I didn't have any sherry on hand so I substituded it for some grape raspberry frozen juice I had at home. I haven't made it with the sherry yet, so I have nothing to compare to, but it was amazing! Everyone loved them and we had nothing left at the end of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was a wonderful recipe but I modified it for the grill. I made up all the ingredients except substituted frozen apple juice for cider and red wine for sherry. I put it all in a bag and added the chops (after poking them a few times with a tenderizer) for an hour or so. I grilled them and then boiled the marinade adding a tablespoon of corn starch mixed with a little wine until thick. I also added salt to taste and served it over the steaks. A nice, sweet sauce on a tender pork steak. All four of the men in my family loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was good but not great. For me, there is too much out there to try that might be great, so I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very easy dish to make and the sauce is quite tasty. I took others advice and adjusted the coooking time in the oven so they wouldn't overcook and added thinly sliced apple and onion as the sauce cooked. Definetely will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States