Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Made this tonight for a dinner party. Reduced the apple cider in a pan (no such thing around here as the frozen concentrate).. this worked well. Used thyme, and marjoram instead of poultry seasoning. Everyone raved about it. BUT, I was not happy with how tough the pork chops became after pan searing them. Grilling them first before baking them like another reviewer mentioned would have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
5 Star recipe! I didn't have frozen apple cider concentrate so I used apple cider vinegar and it came out great! I didn't have any sherry but I poured the left over sauce from the pan into a cup and dipped the chops into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is great! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Easy to make for weeknight cooking. I followed the recipe for everything except that I also sauteed a thinly sliced apple plus 1/2 a sliced onion. Even my little kids ate up the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I didn't have concentrate so I used actual apple cider and it was amazing. I guess with the concentrate it would've had a stronger apple cider taste but I think with reg apple cider it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acali07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very good! I make it without the sherry, and I don't measure the spices. Just sprinkle all the chops with a reasonable amount for good flavor. I also just use fresh apple cider when I have it. This has gotten rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Really good! Store did not have frozen condensed apple cider so had to use regular apple cider. Can't wait to try it with the condensed cider. I added apple slices to the gravy before baking. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The apple flavor was lost to the W. sauce, and, like several others found, the baking time was too long, because the chops were overdone and tough. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made these last night and they were a huge hit! Apple cider was no where to be found however, so I used Apple Juice concentrate instead. I only baked them in the oven for 20 minutes so as not to overcook them and they came out perfect! I served them with some garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus and everyone gobbled them up! In fact, I had to make a second batch because everyone wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Fantastic -- my family loved it! I didn't have seasoning salt, so I used a celery salt instead. I couldn't find apple cider concentrate, so I used regular apple juice concentrate, and added some cinnamon and grated nutmeg. I also cooked it entirely on the stovetop. I added the celery salt, pepper, garlic powder and poultry seasoning to some flour in a large zip-top bag, threw in some pork sirloin chops and coated them with the mixture. (The flour probably helped my sauce thicken.) I browned the chops, set them aside, lowered the heat a bit and added thinly sliced onions to the pan. Once the onions were carmelized, I threw in the apple juice concentrate, cinnamon and grated nutmeg to taste, the worcestershire and the sherry and stirred it all. I added the chops back in, covered and simmered for about 25 minutes. When I removed the chops I let the sauce continue to simmer for only a minute or two, that was all that was needed for it to thicken up. This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States