Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I didn't have concentrate so I used actual apple cider and it was amazing. I guess with the concentrate it would've had a stronger apple cider taste but I think with reg apple cider it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acali07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very good! I make it without the sherry, and I don't measure the spices. Just sprinkle all the chops with a reasonable amount for good flavor. I also just use fresh apple cider when I have it. This has gotten rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Really good! Store did not have frozen condensed apple cider so had to use regular apple cider. Can't wait to try it with the condensed cider. I added apple slices to the gravy before baking. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The apple flavor was lost to the W. sauce, and, like several others found, the baking time was too long, because the chops were overdone and tough. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made these last night and they were a huge hit! Apple cider was no where to be found however, so I used Apple Juice concentrate instead. I only baked them in the oven for 20 minutes so as not to overcook them and they came out perfect! I served them with some garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus and everyone gobbled them up! In fact, I had to make a second batch because everyone wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Fantastic -- my family loved it! I didn't have seasoning salt, so I used a celery salt instead. I couldn't find apple cider concentrate, so I used regular apple juice concentrate, and added some cinnamon and grated nutmeg. I also cooked it entirely on the stovetop. I added the celery salt, pepper, garlic powder and poultry seasoning to some flour in a large zip-top bag, threw in some pork sirloin chops and coated them with the mixture. (The flour probably helped my sauce thicken.) I browned the chops, set them aside, lowered the heat a bit and added thinly sliced onions to the pan. Once the onions were carmelized, I threw in the apple juice concentrate, cinnamon and grated nutmeg to taste, the worcestershire and the sherry and stirred it all. I added the chops back in, covered and simmered for about 25 minutes. When I removed the chops I let the sauce continue to simmer for only a minute or two, that was all that was needed for it to thicken up. This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Made this once before a while ago, but it wasn't as successful as tonight's dinner, as I actually had all the ingredients this time. Didn't have apple cider concentrate, so I simmered 24oz apple cider until it reduced to 8oz. Sauteed 2 onions and some garlic too. Everyone loved these pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My husband made this recipe last night (all by himself!). Initially I was very worried about the amount of Worshestershire sauce, since it is usually very strong. He made it with six chops and approximated the ingredient amounts accordingly. He did not have apple cider, so used apple juice and added some cinnamon and nutmeg to it (his idea). Then he baked it in the oven with 2 thinly sliced apples as well. Then he thickened the sauce with some cornstarch, because the suace was a little thin otherwise. Our whole family really enjoyed it and I was very pleasantly surprised (since I had been worried about the amount Worchestershire sauce)! The apple slices were a very nice touch. I am proud of my husband, because he always says "I don't like to cook" or "I don't know what to make" when it is his turn to do supper. He found it to be an easy recipe and says that he would even make it for company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
We had this last night, it was amazing. I did change it a bit it was too hot to turn on the stove so I through the chops on the grill (thin cut bone in) I based them with the cider olive oil and a teaspoon of Worshire and the spices. Then in a pan made the reduction. It was a bit sweet so I added a bit more worshire. IT was GREAT! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pygmalin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I made this recipe for my husband and he absolutely loved it..he dont care for Pork Chops, but I introduced him to it last nite-he wants it again for dinner tonite..thanx suzette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mili
Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States