Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Everyone in the family loved this recipe. I made a few substitutions though...I used apple cider and two tblsp of apple butter instead of apple cider concentrate, and I browned the pork chops after I seasoned them and dreged them in flour. Then I took the chops out and set aside, added apple slices and half a chopped onion, to the skillet until carmelized. After that I put the chops back in, added the rest of the ingredients to the skillet, turned it down to low and covered it, and simmered for about 30 min or so, until done. It made an awesome sauce! To thicken the sauce I added a bowlkick, tblsp butter melted with flour added to it until it's like a paste. Not to sweet, just right! Try cream sherry instead, it's way more fragrent and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Pretty good! My husband and I enoyed this dish very much. However, I did make a few alterations to use the ingredients that I had on hand. I used a 12 oz can of Apple Juice concentrate, and sprinkled a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg on the chops to compensate for not having cider. also left the poultry seasoning out, didn't have any, so just added a bit more seasoning salt. also added some onion powder to reduce a little bit of the sweetness, and should have followed the cooking time, but thought that the time wasn't long enough so I accidently cooked them just a wee bit too long. Still delish though, especially served with garlic mashed potatoes....covered with the sauce (which never did thicken) was absolutely awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Our family loved this one! - My husband doesn't really like pork, but he really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because I really enjoyed this dish. I loved the contrast between the spicy and the sweet. It makes a great sauce for dipping. My husband, however, didn't care for the sweet taste. That's just his personal taste...nothing wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Excellent meal, though 25 mins seems too long to cook the pork - 20 would probably be adequate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I'm sorry, but this was way too sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was very good although the kids didn't enjoy as much as I thought they would. I used spicy apple cider instead of concentrate because that's what I had on hand. Also reduced the cooking time as suggested by other reviewers. The pork chops were moist and the flavor of the sauce was outstanding. Will probably make again when the kids aren't around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I made this dish for my fiance, and she thought it was the best pork chops she's ever had. I cooked 2 chops instead of 4, but still baked for 25 minutes, so they were a tad over done- but only a little. Otherwise, it was perfect, and we will definitely be having them the next time we host a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Thanks for a tasty, great way to cook pork. It was quick and easy and my boyfriend and I loved the mix of flavors, the salty with the sweet and tangy. We'll definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
The flavor was excellent on these, but my chops, too, came out very dry as another said. I'll try this again just in the skillet without baking or maybe with much less time. My sauce thickened up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomMakesItBetter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States