Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was a very easy recipe to make. The pork chops were very tender and juicy. I didn't have any sherry so I used more of the apple cider. I aslo sauted apples and onions and put them on top of the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Girard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The taste seemed a bit "off"....I like applesauce with pork chops, so thought the cider would give it a rich flavor. I felt it was more of a sweetened pork flavor. The onions were a hit, but I'd pass on the cider next time and stick with apples on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. I couldn't find frozen apple cider, so I used frozen apple juice. Also didn't have any sherry, but this was great without it. The combination of spices and worstershire sauce was perfect. Husband and granddaughter are good eaters anyway, but really enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Breesport, New York, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Really excellent. I don't have a skillet that can go in the oven, so I preheated a casserole dish and transfered from the skillet to that. Then I had the skillet warm and ready for when the chops were done in the oven. I followed other's advice and reduced the cooking time to 20 minutes. Chops were perfect. It was taking a long time for the sauce to thicken, so I used a little cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was phenomenal. Like many others, I didn't have access to frozen apple cider, so I added a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon. All four of my kids (most of whom are picky eaters) gobbled this up. They even asked if we had leftovers so that they could have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made 2 changes -- used 8 oz. apple juice and no sherry. Easy, tender, juicy. My husband went back for seconds. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I have made a similar version of this but added cinnamon, and raisins near the end. It just adds a little extra sweetness. A Fall Favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Like everyone else, I used this recipe as a starting place. I used thyme and sage rather than poultry seasoning, and cut down on garlic powder. After browning the chops (I used rib chops) and removing to a plate, I sauteed sliced apples and onions until they'd softened, adding chopped garlic for the last couple minutes. I then added the chops back into the pan and topped with a can of cranberry apple juice concentrate (rather than apple, to give it a little more zing). I baked, covered, for 20 minutes. The chops were flavorful and moist, and the apples and onions with sauce were great over egg noodles! I served this with steamed broccoli and cauliflower, although it would also be great with green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
My hubby went nuts over this dish. He said I win the expert chef award! I read all the reviews and i also wasn't able to find cider at this time of year so i added nutmeg and cinamon. I also only cooked the chops for 16 minutes in the oven since everyone said theirs was overdone and mine came out PERFECT! I also thinly sliced apples and onions and sauteed them with the concentrate, worsheshire and sherry mixture, when the chops were almost done I brought the sauce to a rolling boil for about 4 to 6 minutes and it thickened to a sweet perfection. My hubby said it was like having desert for dinner and he ooohh yeahed as he ate way too much of it! Mashed potatoes is the perfect match as well! Read all the reviews they make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie143

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States