Apple Cider Sauce and Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Like everyone else, I used this recipe as a starting place. I used thyme and sage rather than poultry seasoning, and cut down on garlic powder. After browning the chops (I used rib chops) and removing to a plate, I sauteed sliced apples and onions until they'd softened, adding chopped garlic for the last couple minutes. I then added the chops back into the pan and topped with a can of cranberry apple juice concentrate (rather than apple, to give it a little more zing). I baked, covered, for 20 minutes. The chops were flavorful and moist, and the apples and onions with sauce were great over egg noodles! I served this with steamed broccoli and cauliflower, although it would also be great with green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
My hubby went nuts over this dish. He said I win the expert chef award! I read all the reviews and i also wasn't able to find cider at this time of year so i added nutmeg and cinamon. I also only cooked the chops for 16 minutes in the oven since everyone said theirs was overdone and mine came out PERFECT! I also thinly sliced apples and onions and sauteed them with the concentrate, worsheshire and sherry mixture, when the chops were almost done I brought the sauce to a rolling boil for about 4 to 6 minutes and it thickened to a sweet perfection. My hubby said it was like having desert for dinner and he ooohh yeahed as he ate way too much of it! Mashed potatoes is the perfect match as well! Read all the reviews they make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie143

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
My husband made this and it was delicious. It has a sweet flavor to it. We could not find the frozen cider so he used 100% pure cider and it worked out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Easy & great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Easy and Great tasting recipe. I was cooking a 1.5# pork loin roast and decided to use this recipe because I had apple cider from Thanksgiving. I seared the outside in a oven-proof pan (3 mins per side), then poured ingreds over loin and placed in oven for 30 mins. Removed and let loin rest on board. I put the 'sauce' back on a burner on high and added the sherry. **For those that could not get it to thicken--you reduce this on high or med/high heat for 10mins or so. You want the sauce to BOIL...this reduces the sauce. Watch it though-it may not look thick while boiling so take it off the heat-if it coats the back of a spoon well--it's probably done. Sherry seems to have a high sugar content which will help to thicken it so if you choose not to use it, this may affect how it thickens. I added raisens-about 1/4 c. while the sauce was reducing. Yummy addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Really, really great. My food snob husband even appreciated it. Definitely make it with mashed potatoes - the sauce is perfect with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Excellent recipe, make sure to use a good quality Sherry though, not a cooking sherry off the store shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This IS yummy! Made a few changes~didn't use the poultry seasoning or sherry. Dredged chops in seasoned flour first. Also browned some apple slices, which I put on top of chops, then added hard cider and simmered on stove top. Keep aneye on liquid while simmering~the cider quickly evaporates. Served with mashed and acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was as excellant recipe. My boyfriend said it was restaurant quality a dish to be prepared with company. He loved the garlic mashed potatoes. A real southeren dish. I read all the reviews before preparing this recipe and did like the cream sherry. I would also cook this for probably 18min. I cooked it for 20 and it was slightly tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
My husband and I just love this recipe. We usually share a thick porck chop. We cook this in a cast iron skillet and are able to put it right in the oven. Even using a thick pork chop we still only cook it the 20-25 minutes. It continues to cook while the sauce thickens. We serve the sauce over mashed potatoes. I always get rave reviews when I cook this for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States