Apple Cider Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This may well be the best stew I have ever made and the leftovers get even better when reheated. The cider and apple give it a mellow sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My family loved this. My old Beef Stew recipe called for a soup mix which we can't use any more as two family members are now gluten intolerant. (I dusted the beef cubes in Tapioca flour before browning. It thickened up very nicely.) This recipe is a great substitute with a mellow flavor and was loved by the preschoolers, too. I cooked this six hours on low in the crock pot and used apple juice as I didn't have cider on hand. The only thing I would do differently is to add a little salt. We're not salt fanatics, but everyone commented that it lacked some salt. Can't wait for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My family loved this and we are eating it fast! I tried to not make changes- I couldn't find Jonathon apples, so I used Gala. I used fewer carrots and more potatoes because that is what my family likes. But the basics were left the same and it was excellent. I won't make any other kind of stew after this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This stew is amazing. It's very fragrant and full of flavor. I was worried it was going to be bland because the broth was so thin compared to traditional stews but I didn't even add salt and pepper at the table, I followed the recipe as written and the only problem I encountered was having to add more liquid to cover the veggies. But it was a huge success that had my boyfriend making happy noises as he ate. Can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good stew recipe. I added a little cornstarch and water to make it thicker, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I served it during the football game and got rave reviews; great served with foccia bread. If you like more of a hearty/heavy beef stew you may not like the sweet/tangy flavor of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Oh my word, this was fantastic! I didn't change a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was AMAZING! My husband doubted this after seeing the cider, vinegar and apples. But followed the directions to a T and it was a hit with the whole family! Sweet, bit of spice and very hearty. Definitely adding to our list of regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Zing! We loved the flavors of this delish stew. I have an abundance of apples and cider from a recent trip to a pick-your-own orchard. I also just bought a whole beef tenderloin for a dinner party. The butcher trimmed the end and packaged separately for stew. I made the recipe as written, and well, it's just about the best stew we've ever tasted. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Yum! I'm making it for the second time in two weeks due to popular demand. The entire family loved it and it is good enough to make for company too (even your in-laws!) I followed the recipe exactly the first time and there wasn't much to change. I did need to double the flour mixture (I ran out the first time) and to save time, I put the flour mixture into a sealed container, added a few pieces of beef at a time, and gave it a good shake. This was a lot faster than rolling pieces individually in the flour like I did the first time. Make sure you brown the meat in batches don't crowd the cubes in the pan or it will steam rather than get the nice crispy brown crust you want. It will spatter quite a bit so use a splatter screen if you have one. I was worried about browning the meat too much as I thought it might overcook. Do not worry! The meat is soooo tender when the stew is done that there is absolutely no need to worry about overcooking it during browning. After you add the cider, vinegar and water, wait a few minutes before adding the meat back to the pan. Let the liquids start to get hot and loosen the yummy brown bits on the bottom of the pan. The recipe didn't specify whether or not to peel the apple. I didn't and the only thing that happened is that there were some pieces of well-cooked apple peel in the stew. Tasty, maybe good fiber, so whether or not to peel the apple is up to you. All in all, a great recipe! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious, even though I forgot to add the apple! This has been added to my personal cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States