Apple Cheddar Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is great. I followed the suggestion to add 1/4 tsp. baking powder to all purpose flour, since I didn't have self-rising. We don't use margarine so used butter instead. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly as it is written. Texture is wonderful, it tastes great, and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
It was delicious, but it definitely needs more cheese for the cheesy flavor. I used at least a cup and could have probably done with more. But it would probably also have been tasty without the cheese, so c'est la vie. Mine didn't rise well, but that's my fault, not the recipes. At least it wasn't concave :] And the density was actually lovely, so if yours fails at rising, eat it anyway. It was perfectly moist and i loved biting into apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is a great bread, we love the subtle taste of apple and cheddar, may try extra cheddar next time though. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This bread was very good! I used half and half instead of milk and made the cheese a heaping half cup, cooked ina byrex bread pan the inside was moise and soft and the outside was just a little crispy but not hard. I wasn't sure how I would like it, but it turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Made this twice now & really enjoy it toasted with butter for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
So good and easy! Made these into muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is bland and dry. I added more cheese to the top, some butter and ginger snap crumbs just to save the bread and not throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Overall, this was a good bread. The only catch is that the taste is that of a good cinnamon bread...you can't taste the apples or the cheddar. Like I said, it was good, but plain. I probably won't try this one again...I'll look for something with more "pazzaz."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Very good. Hubby took it to his office and recieved rave reviews. I didn't have self-rising flour so I added baking powder as suggested by other reviewers and it turned out great :) I also used pecans in place of the walnuts because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States