Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I really like this recipe with zucchini, because it isn't as greasy as most zucchini "bread" recipes. Sometimes I add raisins, instead of walnuts, which I think goes really well with the zucchini. Also, I often substitute whole wheat flour for half of the flour, which gives it a nice heartier texture. This recipe is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is really a great recipe. It's fast and easy and doesn't have a lot of ingredients. A good thing to note is that the batter is very coarse and thick until you add the carrot, zucchini or apple to it; after that, the batter becomes a really nice consistency. Makes great muffins too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
~An overall awesome recipe! I have tried the carrot version a number of times and it always turn out SO moist and delicious. The oil is a lot easier than butter or margarine and I found that this recipe uses less oil then any other carrot cake recipe I have tried. It beat my favorite cookbooks' carrot cake recipe! The only thing is that every time I make it I have to ad about 1/4 cup of water, otherwise the cake does not look like a cake batter. Nevertheless, it turns out AWESOME and MOIST!!! Thanks Carla!~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOLEELEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Only just misses 5 stars. I made it using 3 cups carrot and 1 cup zucchini. This recipe uses far less oil than most recipes of this variety, and I believe that's because it uses double the carrot (zucchini/apple) that other recipes do. The result is a super moist, yet not heavy, cake. Two things that need a little tinkering. First is sugar - 2 cups is WAY too much. I found 1-1/2 cups to be perfect. The second is the spice. As written, it was inadequate to my palate. I would up the cinnamon to 3 tsp (or one TB,) the nutmeg is fine when using apple, but I'd add 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp cloves, as well, and get rid of the nutmeg altogether if using only zucchini and/or carrot (meaning when apple is not used.) The 40 minute timing was dead-on in my meticulously calibrated oven, using a 9"X13" pan. Frosted it when cool with a not-too-sweet cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
This bread was very moist.I used a combination of carrots and apple...yumm! I recommend that you put a little salt on the zuchinni and let the zuchinni sit for 20-25 minutes. This will get some of the water out of the zuchinni, making a lighter bread. (If you use the zuchinni.) I used brown sugar in place of the white sugar, and it was just as tasty. I also cut the amount of sugar, and the bread was still naturally sweet and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The "batter" turned out crumbly. You need to add another 1/2 cup of oil and 2 more eggs to get the batter consistency. The flour to wet ingredient ration is not correct. This recipe will not be successful without it. After the extra ingredients are added, then it is a wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
4/7/05 This is Very Yummy. My whole family loved it!! (Even those who don't like carrots). I was nervous about how dry the mixture was at first, as it said "Pour into pans" I thought no way this is ever going to pour, so I came back to the web and read the reviews... Dumpped the carrots in and sure enough, it all worked out beautifully. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! *** 9/27/06 *** We still use this recipe!! It's a family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Notice that a lot of reviews describe this cake as "moist". Well, that's not the word I would use. I'd go with "wet". Or maybe "gooey". It's also sickeningly sweet. I used only one and a half cups of sugar and it was so sweet that just one bite left me with an unpleasant aftertaste of sugar in my mouth for the rest of the day. I made the apple version of this cake for an office party and the only way I could console myself for the embarrassment I endured was with the thought of writing a negative review later. I don't think I will try this recipe again, but if for some reason I do, I'll use one cup of sugar and three cups of apple. That might be slightly more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This (carrot) cake was absolutely delicious! I added a little bit of flaked coconut and my little ones devoured it, even my picky 5 year old! I was searching for a carrot cake that didn't use as much oil as the others and this is definitely one! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used shredded zucchini and this cake was fabulous! Loved it! It was very moist. I used the Nutty Cream Cheese frosting from this site and it was a wonderful cake that everyone loved! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States