Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I made this cake with apple only. I took a previous reviewers advice and added 2 eggs and 1/2 cup oil. I also used some cloves & allspice along with the cinnamon and some nutmeg. After grating the apples, I let the juice settle at the bottom of the bowl and did NOT add the juice to the recipe to avoid excess wetness. I cooked it in 2 cake pans, one was a regular round cake pan, and the other a much darker square pan. The cake cooked perfectly in the darker pan, it cooked quicker and more evenly, whereas the cake in the 9" round pan took way longer, was a bit overdone and a still a bit wet on the inside. Both cakes took a LOT longer than 40mins, which Im assuming why previous reviewers state having a way to wet cake. You have to test it with a wooden skewer and keep cooking till its done. I frosted the cakes with a cream cheese frosting, and the cake that didnt work out so well was fine after sitting in fridge overnight with frosting. The overdone exterior was softened by the frosting, and the wet inner part firmed up. All in all, not too bad with the few changes to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I really like this recipe with zucchini, because it isn't as greasy as most zucchini "bread" recipes. Sometimes I add raisins, instead of walnuts, which I think goes really well with the zucchini. Also, I often substitute whole wheat flour for half of the flour, which gives it a nice heartier texture. This recipe is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This was moist, dense, and had a weird taste to it. It tasted just OK when it was warm, and I had high hopes for it when it cooled. NOPE! Much better warm. I made this with apples and carrots, and it was just IKKY! Not the texture of cake even, this was NOT what I was looking for! Sorry to the poster, nothing personal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This recipe was very easy and came out delicious. I didn't add frosting, whipped cream, or anything. It was great just plain with a glass of milk. I liked that it called for a lot of fruit/veggies and a small amount of oil, so it was a relatively healthy dessert. I made it with a mixture of apples and crookneck squash. I'm excited to try it with carrots. I think what makes this so great is that it's moist and the spice mixture is just right. I did cut down on the sugar a bit because I don't like things really sweet. I was originally going to give it four stars because it was so moist that it was almost gooey, but the next day it had dried out just a little bit, and it was much better. I wish I could give it four and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This (carrot) cake was absolutely delicious! I added a little bit of flaked coconut and my little ones devoured it, even my picky 5 year old! I was searching for a carrot cake that didn't use as much oil as the others and this is definitely one! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I made this for my father-in-laws birthday as apple topped with some Kool whip that I had added cinnamon too. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I have a few good carrot cake recipes that I've been using for years but decided to try this one because it calls for twice as many carrots/apples/zucchini and half as much oil as most recipes. This is an excellent cake! 4 stars because I think it calls for too much sugar. I use one and a third cups. I like using 2 c. carrots, 2 c. Granny Smith apples and half whole wheat pastry flour. The batter is really stiff until the carrots are mixed in - don't worry, it will be moist and flavorful. My cake is done in 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
4/7/05 This is Very Yummy. My whole family loved it!! (Even those who don't like carrots). I was nervous about how dry the mixture was at first, as it said "Pour into pans" I thought no way this is ever going to pour, so I came back to the web and read the reviews... Dumpped the carrots in and sure enough, it all worked out beautifully. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! *** 9/27/06 *** We still use this recipe!! It's a family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I used zucchini and carrot in them, and put them into mini loaf pans for my kids (ages 1 & 4 ), they devoured them!! Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Notice that a lot of reviews describe this cake as "moist". Well, that's not the word I would use. I'd go with "wet". Or maybe "gooey". It's also sickeningly sweet. I used only one and a half cups of sugar and it was so sweet that just one bite left me with an unpleasant aftertaste of sugar in my mouth for the rest of the day. I made the apple version of this cake for an office party and the only way I could console myself for the embarrassment I endured was with the thought of writing a negative review later. I don't think I will try this recipe again, but if for some reason I do, I'll use one cup of sugar and three cups of apple. That might be slightly more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States