Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This (carrot) cake was absolutely delicious! I added a little bit of flaked coconut and my little ones devoured it, even my picky 5 year old! I was searching for a carrot cake that didn't use as much oil as the others and this is definitely one! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I made this for my father-in-laws birthday as apple topped with some Kool whip that I had added cinnamon too. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I have a few good carrot cake recipes that I've been using for years but decided to try this one because it calls for twice as many carrots/apples/zucchini and half as much oil as most recipes. This is an excellent cake! 4 stars because I think it calls for too much sugar. I use one and a third cups. I like using 2 c. carrots, 2 c. Granny Smith apples and half whole wheat pastry flour. The batter is really stiff until the carrots are mixed in - don't worry, it will be moist and flavorful. My cake is done in 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
4/7/05 This is Very Yummy. My whole family loved it!! (Even those who don't like carrots). I was nervous about how dry the mixture was at first, as it said "Pour into pans" I thought no way this is ever going to pour, so I came back to the web and read the reviews... Dumpped the carrots in and sure enough, it all worked out beautifully. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! *** 9/27/06 *** We still use this recipe!! It's a family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I used zucchini and carrot in them, and put them into mini loaf pans for my kids (ages 1 & 4 ), they devoured them!! Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Notice that a lot of reviews describe this cake as "moist". Well, that's not the word I would use. I'd go with "wet". Or maybe "gooey". It's also sickeningly sweet. I used only one and a half cups of sugar and it was so sweet that just one bite left me with an unpleasant aftertaste of sugar in my mouth for the rest of the day. I made the apple version of this cake for an office party and the only way I could console myself for the embarrassment I endured was with the thought of writing a negative review later. I don't think I will try this recipe again, but if for some reason I do, I'll use one cup of sugar and three cups of apple. That might be slightly more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This recipe was really good. I made it with both Zucchini and Carrot and It came out so moist. It is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I scaled this recipe back to fit my small family (2 people). I thought the batter was too dry, so I added a little water to it. I had my doubts when I put it in the loaf pan....but it came out great and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Wonderful recipe...so easy to make, and it uses much less oil than most other cakes of this type. I made it just as the recipe stated and used carrots from my garden. At first it appeared that it might be to dry...but after mixing everything together...it was very moist. Will most surely use this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This is SO easy to make and it was absolutley THE BEST apple cake we have ever had.It was VERY moist and spongy.We topped it with whipped cream.I will make this for my family again.Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States